Eat More Seaweed

My step-sister once tricked me into believing the dried seaweed she held in her hand was good.  Even though it happened about 17 years ago I still distinctly remember it being one of the most revolting things I have ever allowed to cross my lips.  Since then my taste for seaweed has slowly developed, as has my love for sushi (I am still totally a sushi beginner).  I’d only eat sushi that was not wrapped in seaweed, but instead only had a fine inside layer. 

About a year ago I found myself at an Uwajimaya in Seattle (It’s like the Asian food Mecca).  I sampled a pretzle stick wrapped in dried seaweed.  Much to my suprise I liked it.  This past weekend after my yoga teacher training, I ordered a couple rolls from “I Love Sushi” in Beaverton.  I am pretty sure the avocado rolls, wrapped in thick seaweed, may have been the best sushi/seaweed I’ve had.  I am amazed at how much I now like the stuff.

This aquatic plant has some amazing nutritional values as well.

From oceanvegetables.com:

“Seaweed is the secret to super nutrition

Ocean vegetables are getting more and more in demand today mainly due to their many health benefits, and not just because sushi bars have mushroomed in our midst!

  • Ocean vegetables are one of Nature’s richest sources of vegetable protein.
  • Ocean vegetables provide full concentrations of beta-carotene, chlorophyll, enzymes, amino acids, and fiber.
  • Ounce for ounce, along with herbs, they are higher in vitamins and minerals than any other food.
  • Ocean vegetables are considered the most nutritionally dense plants available in the planet!”

It is also high in iodine, which is like a super-nutrient for thyroid function.  I may be hooked.

Any thoughts?  Like, love, hate seaweed or sushi?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.