Date Night Giveaway

When it comes to date nights, my husband and I tend to be pretty low key.  Our dates usually include dinner and…you guessed it…a movie.  I suppose those are two things we both really love!

I can honestly say our dinner and movie trend has been constant throughout our 6 years of marriage, which, I suppose, makes me feel a little better — knowing our romantic side didn’t fade with the honeymoon period.  No, it didn’t lose it’s luster, we’ve just never been much for expressing our love with mooshy gooey-ness.

But my heart skipped a beat and a form of gooshy love was projected towards my husband when he recently took the initiative to cook dinner start to finish.

As part of My BlogSpark Program, I was sent two Dry Dinner Kits and a $25 Visa gift card to help us recreate a romantic date night.  Good thing our date nights are not hard to recreate!

One date night from our dating years stuck out in my head.  Josh cooked me a meal and we watched a movie (big surprise eh?).  You may be wondering what he cooked for me.  I remember it perfectly.  Microwaved chicken tenders garnished with bbq sauce and potato chips!  🙂  The chicken was so wonderfully chewy and a little rubbery.  But he tried and it warmed my heart.

This is the date night we recreated.  When I received my package in the mail, Josh was up for the challenge.  This was in fact the most sophisticated meal he has ever cooked.  He really liked the way the directions were laid out for him step by step.  The box even gave tips on heating oil.

We ate by candle light, chatted and then…watched a few episodes of Lost.  We’re on Season 3.  That show is stinking addicting.  We saved the $25 for the opening night of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows!!!  OMG  it was so great.  🙂

A quick review of the products…

From my husband’s point of view: easy to make; the orange chicken was too greasy; and the Macaroni Grill variety was ok (this to him means good).

From my point of view:  Orange chicken was too greasy, but good flavor, except I don’t like white rice; great practice for my budding chef of a husband; preferred the Macaroni Grill variety; too many indistinguishable ingredients on the label.

While I probably won’t purchase these items again, I do appreciate my husband getting much needed cooking skills on both of the items.  Now if only they made organic versions!

Now it’s your turn!!!  Wanchai Ferry & Macaroni Grill through MyBlogSpark wants to send you the same package they sent me!  That includes two dinner packages and a $25 Visa gift card.

This is not only open to couples.  All the single ladies ought to enter too.  have yourself a spa night or a girls night out or in!

There is only one way to enter. Comment on this post and tell me a date you’d recreate (or if you’re single, how would you use the meals and the $$).  The winner will be announced next Sunday, Nov. 28.  So you better check back!!!

Happy Thanksgiving!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Giveaway, Review, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Date Night Giveaway

  1. I was torn between which date to choose, but I would probably recreate our Red Robin dinner. The highlights were: a cocktail for me, and the towering stack of onion rings that we shared. I like food that is built to “share” and I marked that date as a special memory.

    This is an awesome giveaway! 🙂

  2. Jessie C. says:

    I’d like to recreate our first date. Get our favorite sushi, wine and a good movie.

  3. Grace Dickinson says:

    I’d go with my first date with my current boyfriend. Sushi, and the funny awkward first date moments of fitting huge sushi rolls into our mouths.

    And I agree, the diet seems much to strict for me (no fun!). However, maybe if I were trying to reverse heart disease, I’d have a different perspective.

  4. omygoodness, i’ve known my husband for 10 years and i don’t think he’s EVER cooked for me! not that i’m complaining, after all, he doesn’t even cook for himself. (without me he’d be living off take out.) sounds like a great giveaway!! too bad i live far FAR away…… 🙂

  5. Heather says:

    I’d like to recreate the first time I cooked him dinner…turkey cutlets, mashed potatoes and homemade orange/cranberry sauce.

  6. Nicole-Lynn says:

    Great giveaway! I’d like to create a nice date night by going shopping with my fiance, cooking our dinner together, as well as enjoying a nice dinner on my patio. It would be so nice to have a nice date night in, saving money. We’re saving for our upcoming wedding so it would be great to win.

    Seasidesmitten@aol.com

  7. I love date nights 🙂 My bf and I make Asian food all the time! It’s so fun. We’ve been slacking lately since moving, and me not having a job. This would be an awesome date night for two people on a limited budget! 🙂

    Looks like you guys had fun! I can’t wait to see Harry Potter!!

  8. Psssstt. My BlogSpark will be shipping it, so they’ll be covering shipping costs…wherever you may live. Australia, right? 🙂

Comments are closed.