Pace: Mi amor

As a kid, I had a bizarre passion for Pace Picante Salsa.  Do your remember those commercials?  The ones with the cowboys who were absolutely outraged to find that their salsa was not Pace Picante from San Antonio, but was a knock off from New York City.  NEW YORK CITY????  Well, if you haven’t seen the commercials I highly recommend that you watch the following before continuing with my post…

Click for Source

Back to me as a kid…

I often pacified boredom at my Grandmother’s house by sitting in front of the TV watching either Fifel Goes West or City Slickers 2 (I can quote lines from both) while eating a big bowl of Pace and scooping it up with Ruffles.  Don’t ask why specifically Ruffles.  I was like 10, ok?

Unfortunately, this ritual happened several times a month, and I am sure was a symptom of my emotional eating issues.  But my point is, I freakin’ loved, and still do to this day, Pace Picante Sauce.  That’s why I was absolutely stoked to get two free bottles of Pace as part of Foodbuzz’s Tastemaker program.

With the Pace I created my take on Mexican Pizza

Directions.

1.)  Make or buy individual sized pizza doughs.  My fave recipe: Anna Maria’s Open Kitchen

2.)  Make my Fiesta Hummus. This is optional.  You could use regular old hummus or red roasted pepper hummus from the store.  But my Fiesta Hummus is so darn delicious and can be enjoyed all week long!

  • 1 can of chickpeas drained and rinsed
  • 3 tbsp Hunts 100% All Natural Tomato Sauce
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • Juice from half a lemon
  • Quarter to a half of a bell pepper (I used red and yellow)
  • Quarter of an onion
  • 1/4 cup of cilantro
  • 1 garlic clove
  • Salt, pepper and CHILE Powder to taste

Put all ingredients to a food processor and process until blended.

3.)  For each individual pizza add the following:

  • For the sauce, 2 tbspn hummus, 2 tbspn cream cheese, 1 tbsp Pace Picante Medium Salsa.
  • Desired amount of black beans
  • Desired amount of chopped belle pepper
  • More Pace Picante salsa!

Bake pizzas according to pizza dough recipe specification.

That’s it folks.  This is one of the tastiest homemade pizza I have ever made and eaten.  I would have loved this as a kid.  😀

Questions:  What are your favorite pizza ingredients?  Did you have something you absolutely loved to eat as a kid?  Ever have a Mexican pizza?

Upcoming posts: Include a bread review and another review that includes a giveaway!  Then I should be all caught up on my reviews and such and can get back to writing.  As always, thanks for sticking with me.

Hasta luego, chicas!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Pace: Mi amor

  1. Pick up the PACE.

    Pace is my favorite, too!! 🙂 Those pizzas look great… yum!

  2. Pace is probably my favorite brand of jarred salsa as well. I stick with the medium kind, but I’m tempted to try the hot kind next time. Mushrooms are my favorite pizza topping…can never get enough of them!

  3. Tes says:

    We had some local organic salsa here but I usually make salsa and store in the fridge. Your mexican pizza looks so yummy. I really love to copy this idea for lunch 🙂
    When I was a kid, I love meatballs so much… and now still I love meatballs and they go every where..on pizza, in my soup..in my curry, etc.

  4. Simply Life says:

    pizza is such a creative way to use it! Nice work!

  5. I loved the old Pace commercials! And I really like Pace! Mexican pizza is a great way to use it!

    My mom didn’t really let me eat processed foods when I was growing up, and I was obsessed with canned ravioli. My aunt let me eat them at her house…

  6. OliePants says:

    The only mexican pizza I had was from Taco Bell (gross). But, yours looks delicious!

    I used to like Pace but I think now I like a thinner consistency salsa.

  7. Heather says:

    I love Mexican pizzas, there were some pizzerias in Chicago that had great “taco” pizzas. My favorite ingredients on a pizza are mushrooms, olives, and italian sausage

  8. thehungryscholar says:

    Um yum. I have never tried Pace. I will get on that. 🙂

  9. i LOVE salsa and used to put Pace on everything! as a kid, i also remember Fruit Loops. (no wonder i’m a sugar addict :p)

  10. I adore Mexican pizzas – they are so good !

  11. I remember those commercials, haha!!!
    I really like Pace too 🙂

Comments are closed.