Aw, who cut the cheese?

Click for source.

I’ve never put much faith into horoscopes.  Even as a preteen I’d read the entry for Taurus in Sixteen magazine a month after the fact, just to prove them wrong.  According to the stars I should have had a crush revealed to me or gone on a hot date at least 10 times during my sixth grade year.  The constellations never had it right. 

Recently, however, I began reading my Hormone Horoscope, a guide dedicated the hormonal changes, which occur in our bodies on a weekly basis.  One entry for “Week Two” really stuck out like a sore big toe on my left foot.  It said that due to rising (or maybe decreasing) estrogen (or maybe progesterone) I would be highly ambitious and bite off more than I could chew, swallow and digest. 

*hmph*” Screw you estrogen (or progesterone),” I thought.  “I can balance work, blogging, ACE certification, yoga teacher training, writing a book, marriage, cooking and cleaning with or without your help!”

Then today my coworker and I got on the topic of the Chinese year signs.  I am a rat.  Curious, I looked up said rat.  It turns out I am very observant and intelligent and I will strike at any opportunity where I feel I can benefit.  I am also creative and don’t do well with mundane day to day tasks, I’d be a better boss than an employee it said.  All true.  Then I read that because I am so creative and my mind rotates about 100 times faster than anybody elses’, I tend to start a bazillion projects all at once.

“Screw you rat!”

I can’t deny my estrogen (or progesterone) or my inner rat any longer.  The truth is I DO too much all at once.  But I love it.  I am almost like an adrenaline junkie.

That being said, I need to slice off a little cheese and save some for later. My cheeks are full.  Yes, yes, you know what’s coming.  The blog is the cheese.  

At this point I am not ending my blog, but there will be some changes.  Changes are as follows:

1 post per week.  Post will likely occur on Monday.

No more posted meal plans.  I’ll still be doing this each week at home, I just feel it is something that can be cut out of my blogging, as it does take quite some time to put together.

Posts will be focused on writing.  Sometimes I’ll write about food, sometimes about yoga, or exercise, or emotional health.  I started the blog to write, and that part of the blog is suffering.  I do still have some food/recipe reviews I am obligated to do, and you may see those on days other than Mondays, if I have time. 

Commenting will have to happen as I have time.  I love all of your blogs and I read them as often as I can.  I hope you understand!

I know I have said it before, but… THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU.  Thank you all for continuing to support me and commenting.  This is so very encouraging as I am journeying to a life without perfection and learning to love myself as I am.

Do you know your Chinease sign?  Did you ever read Sixteen Magazine?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Aw, who cut the cheese?

  1. Heather says:

    Will still look forward to your weekly posts, whatever day you have time to write them!

  2. I think the best blogs come from when people are passionate about writing them, not when they are forced. If once a week fits your schedule, then I’ll look forward to reading them once a week! Kudos for doing what is best for you! 🙂

  3. Simply Life says:

    Sounds like a great plan – we’ll look forward to your writing and hope you find the perfect balance with blogging and everything else!

  4. Oh this is exciting! Honestly, I’m not a fan of meal blogs at all, but I love reading about health, yoga, nutrition, and the likes. Good luck!

  5. Good luck with your new blogging “rules.” I think blogging has to be fun and fit into your life at the moment. I’ve cut WAY back, and I enjoy my blog again and see it as enrichment and not just as another chore!

    Good luck with everything! 🙂

  6. I’m all for just blogging when you are passionate and excited about it. I’ve cut back as well – 3 times a week is really helping me manage my stress level!

  7. Good for you for changing your blog to reflect where you are. It is so easy to get trapped into thinking we need to blog in a certain way. But I have found authentic (living) blogging is where the most happiness is!

  8. I went through the same thing! I love blogging but I needed to cut back.. Goodl uck with everything 🙂

  9. good luck to you, Shawnee! with a schedule like yours, no doubt something needed to be trimmed back. will still be looking forward to your weekly posts! 🙂

  10. I think it’s great that you are taking this step to make your blog and your life what you truly want it to be. I bet you’ll be able to enjoy it ten times more now!

Comments are closed.