Goodbye Summer

I realize that it has officially been fall for about 19 days now, however my supply of farm-fresh summer veggies is running low for the first time in several weeks.  I think I went two  months without having to buy vegetables.  My mom, thanks to her small farm, provided me everything I needed for the better part of the summer.

Here are just a couple of the dishes I made:

Garden Fresh Pizza with homemade, whole wheat pizza crust, homemade pizza sauce, mozzarella, spinach, tomatoes, onions and zucchini.   All the veggies were free from my mom’s garden (minus the onion)!

Zucchini Cakes made with shredded zucchini, whole wheat flour, egg and garnished with fresh tomatoes.  The eggs came from my mom too!

I also made fresh salsa, salads, stir fry, roasted veggies, etc.  I will miss all of the fresh veggies.  Here is my most recent “food box” from my momma.  Grapes (made grape jelly), apples (made apple butter), pears and a few more carrots, tomatoes, snap peas, zucchini and cucumbers.

My next post is going to be a recap of all the fall foods I’ve made so far.  On the menu: apples and pumpkin!  YAY.

Thank you again to all who continue to read my blog.  Last week was very hectic as I have just began studying for my ACE Group Exercise Certification.  I decided to go with the 20 week plan, that way I can take things a little slower. 

My life right now pretty much looks like: 5 a.m. yoga, run/gym; 8 a.m.-6 or 7 p.m. work; 7:30 p.m. dinner; 8:30 homework; and 10 p.m. bed.  Then repeat.  Between studying about exercise, exercising, cooking and working on house projects over the weekend, oh and actually spending some time with my friends and family, I am not left with much time for blogging or reading blogs. 

On top of my already busy schedule, I am adding in two more things:  Writing a children’s book with my best friend and step sister AND Yoga Teacher Training in January (pending acceptance).  Whew! 

I sometimes wonder how I am going to keep up with all of this.  But then I remember that I am working towards my life-long goal.  A genuine freelancer. And I don’t just mean writing.  I mean making a living off of all my interests at a freelancing work capacity.  These are some of my baby steps (of course I feel like I am taking them all at once).  But I am so freakin excited!

Now on to this week’s meal plan: I am trying several new recipes this week from my Better Homes and Garden Cookbook.

Monday:

Breakfast:  Puffins Cereal w/ strawberries and banana, milk and coffee.

Lunch:  PB and J Sandwich, w/ almonds and apple

Dinner:  Beef Stew (I left this up to the hubbs to make!)

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Pumpkin Oatmeal w/banana, milk and coffee

Lunch: Leftover Stew

Dinner: Tamale Pie and spinach salad

Wednesday:

Breakfast:  Puffins Cereal w/ strawberries and banana, milk and coffee.

Lunch: Leftover Tamale Pie

Dinner: Spicy Chicken and Rice Bake

Thursday:

Breakfast: Pumpkin Oatmeal w/banana, milk and coffee

Lunch: Leftover Chicken and Rice Bake

Dinner: Spinach Quiche

Friday:

Breakfast: Ezekiel Raisin Cinnamon Bread

Lunch: Out with the coworkers to celebrate a B-day @ Chipotle.  I will probably have a bowl.

Dinner: Having a friend over.  I am going to “cook” her an entirely raw meal, dessert and all.  Any suggestions?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating, Meal Plans, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Goodbye Summer

  1. zucchini cakes look great! Just my style!
    How fun to cook a raw dinner! The first raw dinner I made for my BFF was the raw spiralizer pad thai and we also made raw sushi from cauliflower “rice” and veggies wrapped in nori. I guess it was 99% raw haha! Cauliflower “rice” is so good! I think Fitnessista might have a good recipe for it?! I could be wrong, but if you google it, there are lots of things you can make with that as a base!
    And Chocolate Covered Katie has a ton of raw desserts, though I don’t make them because they are very high calorie. If you’re not worried about that, go for it! Also, Averie at loveveggiesandyoga.com has amazing raw food stuff from desserts to snacks to meals!
    Let us know how it goes! And wow are you busy! How do you balance it all?

  2. Thank you so much for the heads up on all of the raw stuff! 🙂 I saw your spiralizer thingy on one of your posts recently and thought that would be perfect!

    I have no idea how I am balancing it all. Just a little bit at a time. An hour each night for homework, a couple hours on the weekend to put together some blogs and I need to throw in a couple hours of working on the childrens book now too! It’s all about baby steps I suppose.

  3. Heather says:

    Wow, looks like you have a lot on your plate (literally and figuratively!). But all good stuff, so keep it up and make your dreams come true!

  4. That sounds and looks amazing! I’ve had friends that do all raw and I am just amazed how they do it all.

  5. I will miss fresh veggies, too! But I’ll keep busy with pumpkin flavored coffee 😉

    I look forward to reading about all your adventures in entering into the world of freelance. And yoga instructor learning- how cool!!

  6. Natalie says:

    I love the name of your blog…I can definintely relate! Good luck with studying for your exam and yoga teacher training. I want to do teacher training at some point in my life too, I’m just not sure when!

  7. wow, that’s some schedule. 5am workout – good for you lady, you are hard core!!

    i think it’s great that you’re working towards your life goal. they say the most successful people are doing what they love, and i totally believe it. good luck to you!

  8. simply Life says:

    sounds like you have some great meals planned!

  9. I love having relatives with a big garden!
    I think it’s great you are working toward your ultimate goal! 🙂

  10. All your summer veggies look amazing! I love that a blog lets you look back so easily… 🙂

    You asked me about spaghetti squash on my blog and if it was squishy. It’s not. In fact, I used to slightly under cook and it was quite crunchy (probably a bit too crunchy). I really like spaghetti squash, but I never expected it to taste like “real spaghetti.” Talking to people and reading blogs, I have found that if you expect the squash to taste like spaghetti, you’ll probably be disappointed. However, it tastes great and reminds you a lot of spaghetti, but it’s definitely not the same thing… What I really liked about my last dish was the Parmesan cheese directly on the squash (versus sauce on top of the squash and then the cheese). I think it really made a difference and made us enjoy it even more. Let me know what you think if you ever try it! 🙂

  11. Thanks for visiting and the well wishes! I am excited to do teacher training. 😀

  12. All my backyard fruits/veggies still haven’t ripened yet. There’s something to be said for winter produce in warm climates 🙂 But I’m loving all the squash and apples now. I think that’s what makes fall/winter tolerable, the seasonal food!

Comments are closed.