Review: Shrimp and Lobster Ravioli

 As part of Foodbuzz’s Tastemaker program, I received a coupon for a free Buitoni Frozen Meal for Two.  When I saw the different varieties offered I instantly knew which one I would purchase. Shrimp and Lobster Raviolis used to be offered at the Olive Garden and it was my husband’s favorite dish.  When I told him about Buitoni’s Shrimp and Lobster Raviolis and that I received a coupon, I think his heart might have leapt.  🙂

For a frozen meal the pasta portion themselves tasted just as good as what would be served at a commercial Italian restaurant like the OG.  I was, however, slightly disappointed with the lack of discernible lobster and shrimp pieces.  Also, I think I would have prefered a cheesy or alfredo like sauce to their thick butter sauce.  The butter sauce was palatable, but it would have been better as a thinner sauce, rather than their thick roux. 

Though, I have to tell ya, that butter sauce was pretty darn delicious over some fresh roasted veggies.  Mmmm.  Even with those two minor set backs, I wasn’t complaining.  For $10, it’s something I might do again one of these nights as a special Italian Restaurant at home dinner date. 

Question:  Have you tried the Buitoni Frozen meals?  What did you think?  If you haven’t tried them, what is your favorite ravioli variety?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Review: Shrimp and Lobster Ravioli

  1. Mmm, shrimp and lobster ravioli sounds divine. Ravioli is something I don’t mind buying frozen. There are some great tofu varieties as well. Haven’t tried Buitoni’s though.

  2. I’m not really a frozen meal sort of girl- but I trust your review! Thanks 🙂

  3. simply Life says:

    I received that same coupon but cannot find them in my grocery stores!

  4. Of all the strange and random places, I found them at Target. It wasn’t even a Super Target.

  5. actorsdiet says:

    i felt like the frozen meals were a bit of a waste of packaging – it’s not like it’s so much easier than buying ready-made pasta and a big pasta jar (which i think, overall, would cost less) that said, i liked the way the spinach/ravioli i had tasted.

  6. hmm…..i usually find frozen meals disapointing (not enough protein or veggies) but hey, free is free. i would’ve been all over that! 🙂

  7. Heather R says:

    Totally craving pasta now! And Olive Garden, might have to go get Soup, Salad and Breadsticks for lunch tomorrow.

    Never tried that Buitoni, but I thinkI had a Primavera variety before, not bad.

  8. I have tried Buitoni spinach ravioli, they were pretty good but I still felt somewhat hungry afterwords. They were not as filling as I would have cooked myself hehe.

  9. I just tried to comment on your chile rellenos but the page wouldn’t come up! So here I am instead… They look great! Rellenos are one of my favorite things to order at a mexi restaurant! I love the breading the best 🙂 I will have to try these out myself- I have never considered making them for some reason!

Comments are closed.