He’s Popeye the Sailor Man…

…He’s strong to the finich cause he eats his spinach, he’s Popeye the sailor man.”

One day the hubbs told me he wanted to be vegan like Tony Horton (P90X dude).

“You want to give up meat, dairy and eggs?” I asked.  I went on to explain the difference between a vegan and a vegetarian.

“Well maybe just vegetarian,”  he said.

“So, you want to give up all meat?”

“Well maybe we should just cut back.”

This is what led my to try a new recipe:  Spinach Lasagna.

I found this recipe on Allrecipes.com.  This dish was creamy and comforting like classic lasagna, but had a light and fresh flavor to it.  I highly recommend it.  However, the Mr. said he wasn’t sure about the spinach.  Haha.

Since making this meal, we have cut down on our consumption of meat.  We’re now eating meat about 2, but no more than 3, times per week.  I am struggling to find man friendly meals, though.  Any suggestions?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

P.S.  Thank you all so much for your very encouraging comments about my whole group ex/yoga teacher thing.  🙂  It is really nice to know someone out there backs me up.

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to He’s Popeye the Sailor Man…

  1. actorsdiet says:

    my hubby’s a vegetarian and his fave things are stuff like pizza, burritos, and sandwiches with grilled veggies.

  2. sorrry mate, i wish i had some suggestions! my husband and i are mostly vegetarian (we eat fish, but i rarely cook it) and we also don’t eat cheese so dinners are usually pretty boring. hmm…..i really like the tastespotting website. maybe it’s worth a look! 🙂

  3. simply Life says:

    oh i’ve never made this before – it looks delicious!!

  4. that lasagna looks great!! My boyfriend is “mostly” a vegetarian and he loves pasta, PIZZA (all the time!) and burritos (similar to Lynn’s husband, above!). If yours is willing to try tofu, my tofu ziti recipe is a winner to my boyfriend. I also made a green bean casserole last night that he GOBBLED up. It had 1 can of green beans, a bunch of frozen corn, minced onion, a can of cream of celery soup, a bit of Greek yogurt, some FF shredded cheese, and was topped with crushed saltines and crushed almonds that had been coated in a bit of melted margarine. Mix the casserole ingredients, add the toppings, and baked for 30 min at 350*

  5. What made your husband say that?? Neat though 🙂

    Try grains to bulk things up for a manly-sized meal, like quinoa loaded with veggies. mexican veggie burritos, pizza and soups with bread bowls are good too

  6. Heather R says:

    Yeah, I was going to say pizza, buy a premade crust or refrigerated dough that you can roll out yourself, load it up with veggies, sauce and some cheese and you can’t go wrong.

  7. This looks yummy! The day my husband tells me he wants to cut back on meat is the day I learn to fly – take it and run!

  8. I love spinach and lasagna! Veggie lasagna is actually my favorite!

Comments are closed.