Fitting the mold

Hey all long time no see!  This week has been a whirlwind of activity.  I am not trying to make excuses, nor am I going to make any promises about blogging more consistently.  I’ve realized this just doesn’t work for me.  🙂  I am me not some blogging machine.  Me is busy.  Me lives life!  Whatever that means.

Anyway, I wrote the following a couple weeks ago and I have been meaning to share it.  Enjoy!…

At some point during my childhood I recognized a prefabricated ideal-woman of a mold, which only a select few could actually squeeze in to.  I remember quite clearly the day this revelation was unwrapped and handed to me like an unwanted birthday present – like a coming of age gift.

I was 10 on the verge of 11.  Brittany, a beautiful blond, blue-eyed little girl asked me (with the whole class listening), what I wanted to be when I grew up.  I don’t remember the context of her question.  Perhaps we were all sharing our dreams.  Whatever the reason, I proudly and with reckless abandon responded, “A model.”   

She laughed.  Everyone laughed.  I didn’t understand.  Didn’t my mom and dad tell me that because I was tall I could be a model or a basketball player?  Maybe I hadn’t given my future career much consideration, but hey, I thought it was at least plausible.  Brittany went on to explain to me, again in front of the whole class, that I would not and could not – not ever in a million bazillion years – be a model. 

Every little girl wants to be beautiful.  Hell, I still long to feel desirable; to have the confidence to strut my stuff and wear a princess crown, even if just for a day. 

But according to the world, the magazines, the movies, the advertisements, and the rest of the graduating high school class of 2002, I will never ever squeeze into that mold.  In junior high and high school it was about looks, clothes, boys, and cars.  In college it was about…well it’s about the same.  As an adult the mold is all of those other things plus high profile careers, marrying the perfect man, having the perfect house, the perfect kids, the perfect dog, the perfect cookie recipe, the perfect scrapbook, on and on and on.

When Brittany told me I would never ever be a model, and that I had no chance in Hades of fitting that mold, I thought it was a curse.  I believed in my doom all through school and the majority of my adult years thus far.  But now that I am older and wiser (haha) I know having an entirely different mold is a blessing.  Who wants to be exactly the same as the next?  I don’t.  I am an individual and I am darn fun, darn it!

Question:  What makes you an individual?  Any special dreams, talents, or hobbies?

I have a special talent…I can touch my tongue to my nose.  Seriously, I can!

Meal Plan:

(Dinners only as my breakfasts are all cereal and fruit or oatmeal and fruit and my lunches are all left overs!)

Monday:  Chile Rellanos, spanish rice and homemade chips  (This was left over and frozen from last week)

Tuesday: Pierogues and Sausage (At my friends house for a “Sound of Music” movie night.

Wednesday: Chicken Stir Fry

Thursday:  PB and J on the road to a concert! (Woohoo!)

Friday: Beans and Rice Mexican style

Hope you are all having a fabulous week so far!

This entry was posted in Body Image, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Fitting the mold

  1. I certainly don’t want to fit the mold. Uniqueness is far more beautiful than the standard box. I love all my quirky attributes the best!

  2. Kate says:

    as a kid i wanted to be debbie gibbson but i am so outstandingly tone def 🙂 my special talent? i can keep the gladware drawer organized and make sure each container has a lid that goes with it!

  3. That is a very very special talent! 😀

  4. Great story!! Darn all those “Brittany’s” out there making people feel bad… even if it is my name 😉

    I love being unique! Sometimes the prettiest people don’t get a chance to develop a personality because they can skate by on their looks… how boring!

  5. Who wants to be in the mold anyway! I spent my whole early childhood trying to fit in, but now I just enjoy being me (most of the time!)

  6. simply Life says:

    oh that’s for sharing this story – isn’t sad how when someone speaks just a few words without giving it a second thought it can last a lifetime?!?!…

  7. thehungryscholar says:

    Great story.

    I am unique. I have a quick wit, which I appreciate and also need to shut off sometimes. Ha.

  8. haha…..i’m so proud whenever i don’t fit inside the box. i’m probably the only child of the 80’s who’s never had her ears pierced, my husband and i are NOT friends on facebook (because it’s funnier that way.) and i’m probably the only blogger who’s never had almond butter, chia seeds, Larabars, or greek yogurt. (yes, i’m crazy like that :P)

  9. Heather R says:

    Catching up on some blog reading, your vacation looks like it was a great time!

    Cheers to being unique! I think the one thing making me unique lately is that I will NOT gush about how excited I am that pumpkin anything is back. The only thing I like about pumpkins is carving one and roasting the seeds while watching “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown”. Otherwise I don’t care if it was out of season all year!

  10. Thanks for sharing this story. And, yes, it’s so important to be happy with who we are, not who we think we should be… I think it’s sometimes easier said than done. I’m happy with who I am, but I know that self-doubts, comparisons, and feelings of inferiority can so easily enter our minds… I think it’s important to remind ourselves often how wonderful it is that we are all individuals. Thanks for a great post and reminder!

  11. Tes says:

    Thanks for sharing this…. I am glad that all my friends were not like Brittany. When I said I wanna be work in Nasa they totally agree with me… and when I wanna be movie director… they were really suported. But my dream keep changing a lot… 🙂

  12. Pingback: The best way to predict the future… |

Comments are closed.