That’s SOME Pig

I feel heartbroken today.  A couple things left their mark on my ticker:

Click for Source

1.) I thought about how if I were to raise a hog on my mom’s land, I would have to name him.  I thought about the conversation he and I would engage in before he became a dead pig walking.  I’d tell Mr. Pig that he is a good pig.  He served his purpose of keeping the other pigs and the cow (Mr. T) company.  I would tell him that I know he is tasty, because he is the best pig I have ever raised…the best pig I have ever owned.  I may even kiss the pig goodbye (on the cheek). 

It would be kind of like slaughtering Wilbur.  Nobody slaughters Wilbur because, well, he’s SOME pig.    

2.)  The other, more serious, thing that left a crack on my heart was a Facebook status by a 14 or 15 year old girl preparing to start high school.  Her status basically said that because she has been so busy with her sports practice, she would be “bikini ready” in no time.

She’s not overweight, and she really is a cutie. 

I’m sad about our world, our media, and ourselves; how we project our perceived beauty.  I’m sad that my friends, coworkers, and the teen girls I worked with at youth group have to feel un-beautiful.   I’m sad that I have to feel un-beautiful too.

It’s a gloomy state of affairs, my friends.

I could go on and on and on, weaving an afghan of negativity.  But instead of sitting in a pool of Mr. Pig’s sad, sad muck, I want us all to brainstorm one way we can remind a lovely lady how beautiful she is.

For this girl, I posted a message on her wall…”I want you to remember that your self-worth is not measured by the scale! You’re beautiful no matter what size you are. It is good to take care of ourselves and to stay within the healthy range for our height and age…but don’t forget that you are a loving and fun young lady! I’m sorry you live in a world that says otherwise. *hugs* Hope you are having a blast at volleyball!!!”

She responded back with a virtual hug and let me know she would remember.  I hope she does.

One comment or one heartfelt gesture can go a long way.  I am pretty sure I saw “self worth is not measured by the scale” on someone’s blog today!  Isn’t it amazing how something like that could not only resonate within me today, but could also be passed on to someone else who really needed to hear it?  I haven’t read Operation Beautiful, but it must be along the same lines.

We’re all beautiful and original, and we need to hear it.  Think about how special Wilbur felt in Charlotte’s web, based off of Charlotte’s affirmations alone.  How he did a back flip and repeated to himself that he was SOME pig!

What is one way you can love on you or someone else today?  How can you let someone know they are worthy to feel beautiful?

Today’s eats:

Breakfast:  Oatmeal and fruit

Lunch: PB & J Sandwich and Spinach and Romaine Salad (I had left over fish and corn on the cob from yesterday and left over rice from Tuesday. So that’s what I ate.)

Snack: Fruit

Dinner:  Enchiladas.  Beef for the husband, veggies for me

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to That’s SOME Pig

  1. simply Life says:

    I love what you wrote back to her on Facebook – what a great reminder that we can encourage others!

  2. Tes says:

    Such a beautiful and caring words you wrote on her wall!
    I am sad about the world today that people try to look like something that we already know that it’s artificial. Everyone is beautiful in their own way. I think being healthy both mind and body is the key to be perfect.

  3. what a great post! it’s so funny how compliments and encouragment from strangers can totally stick with a person. i know i can remember moments when it’s happened to me, even from YEARS back. i’ll bet that girl on Facebook will fondly remember your comment too 🙂

  4. Yes, it is sooo important to remind others and ourselves that we are all beautiful! I love that you wrote on the girl’s wall and that you wrote this post! You are beautiful inside and out!

  5. Kate says:

    that is so sad. dont you just wish you could take teenage girls and tell them all the secrets and things you figured out while you were a teen. ok, so i still dont always have the body confidence thing down yet but you know what i mean. i am glad that this young lady has you in her life to help her remember these things!

  6. I am so glad that you took the time to write that to her. Sometimes I get busy and then let things go. This is a great reminder for me.

  7. I think you can try everything to make someone feel beautiful, but ultimately for it to do any good, they need to feel it from the inside. I like to try and challenge people, and when they reach that accomplishment, they usually feel pretty great 😉

  8. It’s incredible (and sad) how much pressure kids feel. Not entirely too long ago, 14 year olds never thought about how they looked….And then came processed foods, and TV ads, and an overall increase in outer beauty. I wish in someways we could go backwards.

Comments are closed.