Oh Dough You Don’t

When my husband and I first got married, we attempted to live off of about $50 to $75 for groceries per month.  We could have afforded more, but when designing our budget, I decided $50 was more than reasonable.  It did help that we ate at grandma’s, Josh’s parents and my mom’s probably a total of 3-4 meals a week.

But when a family member wasn’t feeding us, it was my duty as the wife (not to mention the only one with cooking experience) to come up with meals.  I often liked to play a game with myself, I called it “There’s always something to eat at Shawnee’s.”

The goal of the game was to make something out of nothing.  One time while playing this game I had corn tortillas, a veggie burger, onions, peppers and salsa.  So what did I make?  Veggie burger fajitas.

More recently I found myself with very few ingredients in the house.  I had cheese, salsa, spinach and a bag of flour.  I remembered this quick flat bread recipe that Marissa from Loser for Life featured on her blog back when it was still Trim the Fat.

The recipe is super fast and easy.  It calls for… (following text quoted from her blog)

  • 1 cup bread flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 1/3 c. warm water, plus extra if necessary
  • 1 tsp. extra-virgin olive oil

Mix flour and salt in food processor. Mix water and oil and pour over the flour mixture; process to form a soft dough ball. If dough is too stiff, process in another tbsp. if warm water. Continue to process until dough is well kneaded, about 15 seconds. With floured hands, turn dough out onto a lightly floured surface and cut into quarters (*I did three). Working with one quarter at a time, toll dough out to about a 12 by 4 inch rectangle, dusting with flour and turning as necessary to keep it from sticking. Line a large cookie sheet with parchment or a silicone mat. Top with favorite toppings and bake.

Click here to read the rest of her post.

I’ve used this flat bread recipe to make bbq chicken pizza on the grill a couple times (can you believe I forgot pictures twice?).  If you make this flat bread, don’t really expect flat bread.  It’s more along the lines of a chewy pizza dough/tortilla.  But it’s still good and really fast!

Back to my story…

So what I came up with during my “There’s always something to eat at Shawnee’s” was a Spinach, Cheese and Salsa roll-up/wrap.

Not really much in the way of directions.  Just make the dough above.  Oh and I personally think the recipe is only enough for two people.  It is a very small amount other wise…After you’ve made the dough put some spinach, cheese and salsa in the middle and wrap it up.  Then fry in a lightly greased pan on all sides long enough for it to turn golden brown.  Probably about 4-5 minutes on each side.

That’s it.  Very simple.  And very good.

Today’s Menu

Breakfast:  Cereal, Fruit, Milk and Coffee

Lunch:  Mongolian Grill (Work lunch)

Snack:  Fruit and 1/2 PB and Jelly Sandwich

Dinner:  At a baseball game for work…If dinner is paid for, I will probably have a Fiesta Chicken Wrap or a veggie/rice/chicken bowl

Night!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Healthy Eating. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Oh Dough You Don’t

  1. I’m always making random dishes out of the ingredients I have left in the refrigerator. Sometimes those create the best innovative recipes!

  2. yum! I made a similar dough a few days ago… I don’t have a recipe for mine though :/

  3. It looks really good!!!! You are a master of making something from nothing!

  4. Wow! I’m impressed. I cannot imagine feeding two people on such little money. I need to do better with our budget – I know I could cut a lot.

  5. How very “Chopped” of you 🙂 I hope you watch/have seen that show… otherwise I got nothing haha.

  6. Quick, easy, and cheap-ingredient recipes are the *best*! and these look incredible- like a gourmet hot pocket 🙂

  7. SheFit says:

    YUM! I like your roll ups. My husband is such a picky eater. I think he would love these. I’m going to test them out on him

  8. simply Life says:

    Your creation sounds delicious! We also try sticking to a grocery budget and I think it helps appreciate when we do get fancy foods and it’s fun to get creative! 🙂

  9. Heather R says:

    That looks really good night now! I’m reading all of these food blogs and getting hungry :-).

  10. thehungryscholar says:

    That looks great. Thanks for sharing. 🙂 It actually looks like something I can do.

  11. $50-$75 a MONTH?!?

    How did you do that? I’m so impressed!! What did yall eat? Did that include all meals (breakfast lunch & dinner?)

Comments are closed.