Grocery Shopping will Never be the Same

Frustrated.  Sad. Confused. Angered.  Lost. For. Words.

That’s how I felt after watching Food Inc. yesterday.  I am so glad Robert Kenner made this documentary.  It is upsetting to me that Robert Kenner had to make this documentary, but I am glad he is sharing and spreading the word.

(Source)
What I’m mad about:

  • The food industry for abusing our animals (Yes ours!  God designed us to be stewards of the earth and it’s creatures)
  • The food industry for abusing our land (Again.  They may own it, but the earth belongs to us)
  • The food industry for abusing the workers.
  • The food industry for monopolizing the working-hard-just-to-survive farmers.
  • The government for lying to us about where our food is coming from.
  • The government for failing to keep us safe from these hazardous conditions.
  • The government and the food industry for working together to keep their pocket books fat and America Obese.

I’m confused about:

  • How to grocery shop.  For the past few years I’ve tried to eat Organic/Natural/Whole-istically in terms of my packaged products and dairy.  I just can’t always afford the meat to be grass fed or cage free.
  • Why so many people don’t seem to care.

 I know it’s not my place to get all hot and bothered by people’s convictions lack of convictions.  I just don’t understand how so many people can say “I don’t want to know” or “I’m too scared to watch it.”  I feel like it’s our responsibility to know.  Put your big kid pants on and get it over with!

Even if you don’t change your eating habits you still have a responsibility as an adult, an American and a human to at least know what you’re eating and what you’re feeding your children.
Maybe I am being self-righteous.  I am really sorry if I am.  BUT I still feel like there is a level of responsibility that people are ignoring when they avoid the truth.  Food Inc. is the truth…maybe it’s not even the whole truth.  I believe the whole truth may be even more terrifying.

 Steps off soap box…

Have you seen Food Inc.?  What did you think?  Did it change the way you eat or shop?

This week’s Meal Plan

I had every intention of keeping up with my “shop only from the ads at Safeway” challenge.  But only three items from their ad are environmentally, humanely and locally friendly.  I did, however, check out Roth’s a local grocery store.  The first page of their ad is entirely local!  Even some chicken and beef on sale.  Still more expensive than the other stuff, but so worth every penny. 

If I can support local farms who treat our environment, land and animals with respect, I’m on board!  I’ve also decided that if for some reason I can’t afford meat one week.  I’ll just go vegetarian.  No skin off my back.  There are beans, nuts, avocados and my mom’s organic cage free eggs!  Next year I’m purchasing a 1/4 of my mom’s cow (named Mr. T) and she said we could raise a pig on her land.  I love that my mom has a small farm.  She should have goats milk (which means goat cheese soon).

And back to this week’s menu…

Monday:

Breakfast: Planned on eating cereal and fruit (but ran out of the house with a poptart and put some PB on it…fail)

Snack:  hazelnut Mocha

Lunch:  Veggie and Black Bean Hummus Crepe from French Press

Snack:  Mini whole wheat bagel and cream cheese, pb, Ghirardelli square and a plumb

Dinner:  Chicken, Rice with veggies and a green salad

Tuesday:

Breakfast and Lunch:  All Staff Meeting…food provided.  :/

Dinner: Left over ribs, red potato and veggies.  The ribs turned out great

Wednesday:

Breakfast:  Cereal, Fruit, Milk and Coffee

Lunch:  Mongolian Grill (Work lunch)

Snack:  Fruit and 1/2 PB and Jelly Sandwich

Dinner:  At a baseball game for work…If dinner is paid for, I will probably have a Fiesta Chicken Wrap or a veggie/rice/chicken bowl

Thursday:

Breakfast:  Cereal, Fruit, Milk and Coffee

Lunch: Refried Beans, Salsa, Cheese, Corn tortillas and salad

Dinner:  Probably a sack dinner as I have ANOTHER work thing.  :/

Friday: 

Breakfast:  Cereal, Fruit, Milk and Coffee

Lunch: Left over Refried Beans, Salsa, Cheese, Corn tortillas and salad

Dinner:  Boutoni Shrimp and Lobster Ravioli

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist 

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Grocery Shopping will Never be the Same

  1. I too have seen Food, Inc… It definitely made me rethink a lot of my choices (shopping at Wal Mart because it’s so cheap…). I feel like it is definitely meant for an omnivore audience, and a lot of the info on the meat industry was stuff I had already researched myself or had learned about in various books. I do try to make an effort to buy locally, but it’s hard! I think the movie was a lot more eye-opening to my boyfriend than to me, since I’m a lifelong vegetarian and mostly vegan.

  2. I saw Food, Inc., and it definitely made me re-consider many of my habits. I’m very fortunate in that I live close to several different farmers’ markets, where I now buy most of my meat and dairy and almost all of my produce. It is more expensive, but I work with it, cutting my budget in other areas. I’ve also developed relationships with many of the farmers/growers, which has been fun! It’s great actually talking to the people who prepared your food.

  3. I haven’t seen Food Inc……..I’m not sure I want to? lol. I know that’s pathetic 🙂

  4. i saw part of Food Inc on a flight from Vancouver to Sydney last year….fell asleep about 20 minutes in (not the movies fault.) after that, i switched to free range eggs.

    looks like a good meal plan! i eat cereal every day too 🙂

  5. Kate says:

    i had a very similar reaction when watching this movie too! it drove me crazy but i cant always afford to purchase the organic, humanely raised products. arg!!!! even with the discount i get at my new job, a foodie store featuring all local goods, it is still expensive. i try to pick organic as much as possible and not sweat it too badly when i cant.

  6. Tes says:

    Though I am not living in the US, this post really make me think of my shopping habits. I thinks it’s good to know where the food come from and supports the right source. Thanks for a helpful post 🙂

  7. Heather R says:

    I saw Food Inc. and felt the same way, also had to dedicate an entire post to it after watching. The part that angered me most was about that company Monsanto and the genetically modified soybeans, they sounded so evil!

Comments are closed.