Just another Manic Monday…except it’s Tuesday

Source: Microsoft Word Clip Art

 

It seems like I have been absent forever.  But despite my mini hiatus, I want to say thank you and send another hug and even an invisible high five to y’all.  You’re awesome and I appreciate all of your support so much more than you know.  So thanks.  🙂 

Life Update: I actually had a really great time at the Leadership Conference and got a lot of great insight.  I also got whooped at mini golf.  And I even got inspired to buy a pair of red boots.  hehehe.  My eating has been wonderful, even on the trip.  I treated myself once or twice during the conference (coffee and ice cream), but most of the time I found I really wanted fresh foods.  There were a couple times I contemplated a burger and onion rings, but then I asked myself if I really really wanted that.  My answer was surprisingly, NO!  I thought about how heavy a burger is and how greasy onion rings are.  They just sit in my stomach and make me feel heavy and sick.  At home I only one near death experience via potato chips.  🙂  But I caught my actions and took note.  Seriously a YAY ME moment.  The hubbs and I had a great time this weekend.  I plan to post some pics tomorrow.  😀 

This week’s meals… 

I decided to try something new this week.  I grabbed my Safeway ads and I bought only what was on sale at Safeway (or I wrote the list and my wonderful man went for me), and I planned my meals based off the ads as well.  Everything below is from Safeway’s ad this week, and I will even have a bunch of stuff for next week as well.  Only cost us $50.  That’s cheap for Safeway (or as my mom calls it Slaveway…she works there hehehe). 

Have you ever bought everything only from ads? 

Monday: 

Breakfast: Cereal with granola, fruit and milk 

Lunch: Salad w/chicken, cheese and veggies 

Snack: Peanut butter and crackers, apple, carrots 

Dinner: Beans, rice, ham and corn bread 

Snack: Sampler size Laura Bar 

Tuesday: 

Breakfast: Cereal with granola, fruit and milk 

Lunch: Leftover Beans, rice, ham and corn bread 

Snack: Yogurt, Apple, Crackers and cheese 

Dinner: Leftover Beans, rice, ham and corn bread (Again…Because my husband decided to be thrifty) 

Wednesday: 

Breakfast: Cereal, fruit and milk 

Lunch: Salad w/ham, cheese, cucumbers and feta 

Snack: Yogurt, peaches, crackers and pb 

Dinner: Teriyaki Chicken, rice noodles and veggies 

Thursday: 

Breakfast: Eggs and toast, watermelon 

Lunch: Burrito w/ refried beans, cheese and lettuce 

Snack: Yogurt, peaches, crackers and pb 

Dinner: BBQ chicken sandwiches 

Friday: 

Breakfast: Sautéed Peaches, Yogurt oatmeal and toast 

Lunch: PB and Jelly Sandwich, watermelon; 

Snack: Yogurt, berries, crackers and pb 

Dinner:  Still up in the air, I may be spending some much needed girl bonding time with my adopted seesters. 

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist 

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close! 

 

This entry was posted in Meal Plans, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Just another Manic Monday…except it’s Tuesday

  1. Um, when the coupon ad things come on Sundays, I’m sold. Especially around Christmas time. So fun 🙂

  2. thehungryscholar says:

    I love granola. I am starting to meal plan, well trying. I find these posts extremely helpful.

  3. lol @ Slaveway…love stuff like that!
    the sautéed peaches sound awesome!

  4. Congrats on your “YAY ME” moment! That’s so awesome! 🙂

  5. Tes says:

    It looks like you gonna have a delicious week! The meal plan looks amazing 🙂

  6. Oh I love budget challenges! No, I have never bought only “on sale” but I think it would be a fun challenge to try- great idea!!

  7. Let’s see the red boots!

    I’ve never bought solely things in the ads, but I do try to get ideas from them!

  8. Sometimes fresh really is best. Actually, almost always this rings true. I got the classic London fish ‘n chips the other day, just because I had to try it while I was here. While I don’t regret the decision because I think it was worth trying once, I’ll never get it again. It was definitely overrated and I felt sick afterward!

  9. I ve never managed to organised things like that. You are amazing

  10. thehealthyapron says:

    I have been meal planning my weeks for the past year and have saved at least $40 a week than my usual normal shops! It’s so much easier to at least have an IDEA of what you will be eating for the week! I need to get better with using coupons though!

  11. glad to hear you had a good trip! and your willpower – geepers, that’s amazing! it’s so much harder when you’re away and that’s maybe your only food option. sounds like you held your own though: i would’ve buckled by lunch time 🙂

  12. Kate says:

    i like this shopping from the add concept. i am always looking for money saving tips. thanks for sharing!

    glad you had fun at the conference!

  13. I always try to buy from the ads but have never totally been successful. Those meals sound fabulous.

Comments are closed.