The Odd Couple

When you know, you just know.  It’s kind of like: How can it be wrong, when it feels so right?  That’s how I felt about this creation.

I’ve been meaning to share this fruit and veggie salad with you all for sometime now.  After my 24×24 Girl’s Guide To Grilling BBQ, I had a lot of left over food.  I am pretty sure I ate off of it for about 3-4 days. 

On day two I was really in the mood for a salad.  By that time most of the left over lettuce had gone limp.  I had grilled asparagus, feta, pineapple, tomatoes and a mango I hadn’t gotten around to eating.  Oh and don’t forget homemade teriyaki sauce.

Now you might have this feeling in the pit of your stomach.  You know that feeling when a friend hooks up with a guy, but they just seem so wrong for each other?  Ya that feeling!  I’ll admit, I had cold feet there for a while.  But I rolled up my sleeves and gave it a go.

Some how it just worked!

I’ll call it Island Style Leftover Salad

Ingredients:

  • Mango
  • Pineapple
  • Grilled or Roasted Asparagus
  • Diced Tomatoes
  • Teriyaki Sauce
  • Feta crumbles

Sorry, no measurements.  Slice, dice, and chop ingredients, toss in a little bit of teriyaki sauce and top with feta crumbles.  I realize this may not be for everyone, but I’m sure I’ll eat it again.

What are some Odd Couples you’ve paired in cooking?

Tuesday’s Meal Plan

Breakfast: Oatmeal w/ fruit, milk and coffee

Snack: fruit and yogurt

Lunch: Tuna Fish Sandwich, fruit, veggies

Snack: Granola Bar, fruit, coffee

Dinner: Red Roasted Pepper and Tomato Soup with Grilled Cheese Sandwich

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Odd Couple

  1. Your salad looks & sounds good! I used to not like fruit in salads, but lately I have acquired the taste of it… 😉

  2. MaryMoh says:

    I always love mango and pineapple in salad though I often finish them all and none left for salad 😛 Your salad looks very delicious.

  3. ah, that’s my kind of cooking! i don’t measure anything either (mind you i don’t eat anything that complicated.) grilled pineapple and mango sound yummy, one of these days i need to buy myself a grill.

  4. simply Life says:

    oh that salad looks great! I love anything with mango!

  5. My favorite off couple is cantaloupe and red wine vinegar! Sounds crazy, but I love it!

  6. Monique@She's Going The Distance says:

    I bet it tasted just as good as it looks 🙂

  7. Super colorful salad!!!

  8. Kate says:

    that does sound interesting! i enjoy all the elements seperately so why not throw them all together. creations like this are so much fun!

  9. My husband would love this! I tend to just be boring and use veggies in salad, but this looks wonderful. Thanks for sharing!

  10. I love the colors of your salad! I seem to eat with my eyes first!

    Hmm…I guess one oddball thing I like is wafflewiches – egg and cheese between waffles or turkey and cheese for lunch!

  11. thehungryscholar says:

    The south doesn’t think this is odd, but chicken and waffles!

  12. the food looks great- totally something I’d love!
    I also like…grapes and apple with hummus! So good 🙂

Comments are closed.