Today I ate Cheetos and Didn’t Feel Guilty

Last night I had the option of blogging or… shopping for clothes.  Which would you have chosen?

So since giving up the dieting mentality and counting calories…

  • I experienced one close call with a binge.  I had just gotten home from Zumba, and I began thinking about how messy my house is and how much work need to be done.  My meal plan sounded terrible, but I knew I needed to eat.  I started out by eating 1/2 a granola bar, 6 Triscuits, and 1/2 cup baked beans.  After eating the beans, I thought again about how much work needed to be done.  But this time I caught it!  I realized that the granola bar, triscuts and beans were a starting point for a binge.  I was still hungry, so I made a sandwich that I really didn’t feel like eating.  But, this ended my eating for the night!!!  Woohoo!  😀
  • I had a freak out session in which I was massively hungry the entire time.  But I remember thinking that if I eat, I would be eating during a time when I was highly emotional.  So I restrained my self from eating and went to bed.  Maybe this was restricting???  But at least I was recognizing my emotions.
  • I’ve been eating until I’m full.  I put down the food when I feel the slightest hint of being full.  I then wait 5 minutes.  If I still feel hungry I continue to eat.  If not, I am finished.
  • I’ve been eating very nutritiously.  I am now focusing on the food pyramid and in stead of counting calories I am thinking, did I get enough calcium, etc.  I’ve also been eating 6 servings of whole grains a day!  Grains/starches were one I’ve always restricted to 3-4 servings.  Turns out this is super un-healthy.
  • For lunch yesterday, I had one serving of Cheetos with my sandwich, because I wanted some!  I ate them.  They were good.  And I didn’t feel guilty about it!  😛  I remember a time a few years ago, when I had the same size bag of Cheetos.  I must have been going through a bingey phase because I chewed them up and then spit them out.  It’s gross I know, and a huge sign of disordered eating.  I love how is liberating to be able to eat something I want and not feel bad.

The hubby and I got invited to a baseball game.  I followed my meal plan today, but no shrimp tacos for dinner.  I’m gonna have me a hot dog (and not feel bad about it!!).  YAY.  🙂

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Today I ate Cheetos and Didn’t Feel Guilty

  1. It sounds like you are making great progress, things will only get easier. Keep loving your new freedom!

  2. Congratulations on all of these amazing victories!!!! 🙂

  3. Congratulations! That is a really great progress.

  4. thehungryscholar says:

    Great work! I know how difficult it is, so I’m very impressed. Thanks for the honesty!

  5. That is a huge step, good for you!~

  6. simply Life says:

    That’s great that you have really been able to slow down and listen to your body!

  7. peacebeme says:

    Congrats on winning all of these little battles, they really add up to big things!

  8. Kate says:

    yayayay! this is so great woman! the more you are able to do these things, the easier it becomes in the future. congratulations 🙂

  9. This just really shows how well you are doing. I’m so happy for you!

  10. You are definitely not alone girl, I feel like so many people (myself included) have been at a point at one time or another where they would chew food for the taste a spit it out. Good for you for talking about! Sounds like you’re on a healthy path 🙂

  11. Tes says:

    Congrats on the victory 🙂
    Thanks for sharing,
    Tes

  12. oh my goodness your blog is such a ray of sunshine. i absolutely love your positive attitude and how encouraging and supportive your posts are. you are a gem!

    i can’t wait to learn more about your journey 🙂
    -rebekah

  13. Kelly says:

    Woo hoo on the victory!

  14. Monique@She's Going The Distance says:

    I want to go shopping for clothes 🙂

  15. Heather R says:

    I would have gone shopping 🙂 Hope you had fun at the baseball game and that the hot dog was yummy!

Comments are closed.