A Summer Tastic Weekend and Meal Plan

(A summer-tastic salad creation cheerfully consumed on Saturday!)

One of my coworkers, who is 2 years my junior and who is experiencing her first full-time sit down job out of college, was lamenting this past week over not having time to enjoy summer.  I think her concerns are completely called for as 1.) It takes a long time to get used to the idea that we might be working for the rest of our lives, never experiencing a full summer again; and 2.) Our summer really didn’t kick off until last week.  Summer is almost half way gone.

Her sorrows made me somewhat depressed, as I myself am still getting used to no more summers without work.  I am really glad it was a topic of concern, though.  Because of it I decided to grab on to the reins of summer and slow’er down a bit.  Woah Girl!

Here’s a quick review of my weekend…

Saturday: Farmers market, library for summer reading, salad made from market finds, reading outside for hours, bike ride to Jamba Juice and Great Harvest with the hubby, and a backyard BBQ!  See pictures below.  🙂

Sunday: Was a little less exciting.  Church, more reading, tried and created a new recipe (which I will share later), watched The Princess Bride with the youth group, and went grocery shopping.

This Week’s Menu:

I decided I won’t be entering my menu into SparkPeople any more to count calories.  For one this is way too time consuming and two I think I am going to give up counting calories for good.  I know.  I know.  I made a big deal about my calorie expenditure so that I can lose weight and yadda yadda yadda.

I am an obsessive, compulsive and emotional eater.  From my summer reading, I am learning that dieting (or the mind-set of obsessively counting and restricting calories) is really detrimental to a person’s mental and emotional health.  But more on this topic to follow.

I am also not going to list out portion sizes.  But as a general rule for myself.  I will usually limit each item to one portion.

Monday:

Breakfast:  Whole wheat cereal w/ berries and milk, slice of whole wheat toast and a small smear of butter.

Snack: 1/2 of a strawberry short-cake and medium caramel latte w/ non fat milk (went out with the team for our team meeting)

Lunch: Sandwich w/ jam and cheese (smoked Parmesan/cheddar hybrid to be exact) and a plum.

Snack: Whole wheat crackers, almonds, apple and carrots

Dinner: Hamburger (extra lean beef), on whole wheat bread, baked beans and broccoli

Tuesday:

Breakfast: Toast w/ PB and Jelly, fruit and milk

Snack: granola bar, fruit

Lunch: Flat bread w/ avocado, black beans, salsa  and small romain salad

Snack: 1/2 green pepper stuffed w/tuna and cheese

Dinner: BBQ chicken, mac & cheese, baked beans

Wednesday:

Breakfast: Oatmeal w/ fruit, nuts, and milk. Coffee

Snack: Whole wheat crackers, cottage cheese, fruit

Lunch: Turkey sandwich w/cheese, fruit, veggies

Snack: Yogurt and granola

Dinner: Salad w/berries, nuts and slice of bread

Thursday:

Breakfast;  Omlete w/veggies and salsa, 2 slices toast and milk

Snack: granola bar, fruit

Lunch: Sandwich w/ jam and cheese (smoked Parmesan/cheddar hybrid to be exact) and a plum.

Snack: 1/2 green pepper stuffed w/tuna and cheese

Dinner: Flat bread pizzas w/ bbq chicken (been trying to make this for a few weeks now)

Friday:

Breakfast: Whole wheat cereal w/ berries and milk, slice of whole wheat toast and a small smear of butter.

Snack: Cottage cheese and fruit

Lunch: French dip and small salad (working lunch from Big Town Hero)

Snack: Whole wheat crackers, cheese, fruit and veggies.

Dinner: Shrimp Tacos

Weekend Plans: I may or may not come up with one.  😛

What did you do this weekend?  Any good eats?

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Meal Plans. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to A Summer Tastic Weekend and Meal Plan

  1. The farmer’s market looks great! I keep forgetting to check out the one here…
    I’ve recently stopped tracking calories as well. I wasn’t too picky about it- I just did a loose estimate of everything I ate, but it really started getting to me and I was focusing too much on grams of fats/carbs/proteins et cetera, instead of focusing on just eating what made me feel good.

  2. Monique@She's Going The Distance says:

    Berries in salads always make me drool 🙂 Yours are no exception!

  3. This burger made my day 🙂

  4. That salad looks beautiful! I love creating salads that are aesthetically appealing with all the different colors and textures.

  5. Your summery salad looks awesome! I love blueberries and strawberries in salads!

  6. simply Life says:

    oh yum! that salad looks amazing!

  7. I’m also experiencing my first “not-real summer,” if you will – I’ve always been either an undergrad or a grad student! I’m trying to find different ways of enjoying the summer, like early morning or late evening walks. I’m also finding that I appreciate my weekends so much more!

  8. I lost focus after The Princess Bride 😉 I LOVE that movie and haven’t seen it in years!

    Oh princess buttercup, I must watch you again soon!

  9. Yum – that salad not only looks beautiful but I’m sure it tasted even better. My family loves salads with berries!

  10. Looks like a great weekend! I love a good farmer’s market! And your salad looks wonderful!

    I think I may be the only person in the world who has not seen The Princess Bride. My students all used to make fun of me for never having seen it!

  11. You have got to watch it! I recently had a friend tell me she didn’t like it because it was too cheesy. I didn’t feel like arguing with her though. It’s supposed to be cheesy. It’s all about the dialogue.

    “Hello, my name is Inigo Mantoya. You killed my father, prepare to die.”

  12. I feel your coworkers pain..every year around this time I kick myself for not being a teacher!
    Farmers market and books, swooooooooon 🙂 I’m literally craving new books to read right now, haha!
    I’m sure you have a good grip on calories and portion sizes anyway from your experience menu planning! Good for you!

  13. I think not tracking calories or counting them obsessively you will find to be very freeing and much less time consuming as you said!

  14. Kate says:

    your salad looks so yummy! i really like putting berries on summer salads.

    and i am so pumped for you and your new food plan! you can most definitely rock that mind set. plus imagine all the cool stuff you can do with all the extra time you have now 🙂

Comments are closed.