We’re all Winners with this Menu

First off, this is a little late in coming, but I have the winners of the Kardea Bar Giveaway.  Drum roll please…

The winner of the four pack sampler is: Kate from For the Love of BreakfastAnd the winner of the 10 pack sampler is: Lynn from The Actor’s Diet!How the winners were chosen:  Nancy from Kardea Nutrition has been sending me the names of the entries.  I compiled a list and then used the random numbers generator to choose.  Thank you Nancy and Kardea for making this giveaway possible. Congratulations Kate and Lynn!

Do you know what BMR stands for? Basil Metabolic Rate.  But it turns out this is not the amount of calories you burn as a living, moving, functioning human.  This is the amount of calories you burn if you were comatose — sleeping 24 hours a day.  This is the amount of calories you need to sleep and breath.

There is another equation to keep in mind: Activity Multiplier.  This is a number, which is associated with a level of activity.  Once this is factored in, then you can figure out your TDEE (Total Daily Energy Expenditure), or the amount of calories you need in order to maintain your weight.

My TDEE is 1946.  If you read my post, “I need your Exercise Expertise” this would mean that SparkPeople pretty much had it right.  This also means that Run Eat Repeat (I am sorry I don’t know your name) also had it right!

I do need to eat more calories, that is, if my goal is to lose 1 pound a week.  In order to lose one pound a week I need to cut 500 calories per day or 3500 calories per week.  I need to eat more calories because:

1.) After being led to believe that if I continued to exercise at the same rate, I would have to eat 1200 calories a day, I got really discouraged and ate like a bat out of hell this weekend.

2.) When I try to eat a lot less, I end up eating a lot more.  Why?  Because with the amount that I exercise, I am hungry all day and I feel deprived.

So here are my new calorie goals: Eat 1700 calories (or less) per day and burn 300 calories during exercise each day.  Some days I will end up burning more, some days less.

I feel like I’ve won today because I feel like this is an achievable goal.

For more information on how to calculate your own BMR and TDEE read this fabulous article on Shapefit.com.

This week’s Menu (or what’s left of it)

My menu this week is not terribly detailed, but it’s a plan.  🙂  I am going to have to track calories as I go.

You can see what I ate today at: my SparkPage on SparkPeople.com.  Click on the  “Shared Food and Fitness tracker” button on the right side of the page.

Wednesday:

Breakfast:   ½ c. yogurt, 2 serv. fruit, ½ c. granola, 1 piece of toast with 1 tbsp jam and 1 tbsp PB

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Romaine Salad w/black beans, salsa, light ranch, tomatoes, and 2 corn tortillas

Snack:  1 serv. cheese, 1 serv. veggies, coffee and 1 serv. Silk

Dinner:  Grilled Chicken, baked potato, grilled onions

Thursday:

Breakfast:   2 eggs , 1 oz cheese, tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit and c. milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Lunch:  Left over Grilled Chicken, baked potato and onions.

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  BBQ Hamburgers (cooked on the grill with my mad grillin skills), baked beans, and fresh veggies.

Friday:

Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Lunch:  Deli Sandwich leftovers w/ homemade tortilla chips and ½ c. salsa.

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner: BBQ Chicken pizza (baked on the grill!)

Saturday :

Breakfast: ½ c. yogurt, 2 serv. fruit, ½ c. granola, 1 piece of toast with 1 tbsp jam

Lunch: Tuna Salad Sandwich

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  Cold Deli Sandwich (2 slices whole wheat bread,  3 oz turkey breast, 1 oz cheddar cheese, 4 slices tomatoes, 1 pickle, 1 slice of onion) with ½ c. green pepper slices and homemade corn chips (2 corn tortillas) and ¼ c. salsa.

Sunday:

Breakfast: Toast w/ PB & jelly, 1 c. milk and 1 serv. fruit.

Snack:  Caramel Latte w/ non fat milk

Lunch:  Tuna Melt w/ Fresh Veggies

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  Church BBQ

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Meal Plans, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We’re all Winners with this Menu

  1. Your menu looks great for the rest of the week! Your goal is great! I’m sure you are going to be able to achieve it!

  2. Hey girl! I am glad that you got the reassurance that you can and should eat more! You will feel so much better!

  3. Kate says:

    thanks for the bars!

    glad you are feeling better about your meal plan too! it can get overwhelming trying to figure all that stuff out and decide who to listen to.

Comments are closed.