I need your exercise expertise

I need your help.  But first let me explain my situation.

I work.  A lot.  Okay, okay, I know other people work 40 hours a week, but some days I feel like I am sitting all day long.  Here is my schedule:

  • 5 a.m. wake up (most days) /coffee time
  • 6 a.m. exercise
  • 7 a.m. get ready for work
  • 8 a.m. leave for work
  • 12-1 ish lunch break reserved for blogging or reading
  • 6 or 7 p.m. (2 long days and two shorter days) return home from work / cook dinner
  • 8 p.m. blog/comment on blogs
  • 9 p.m. ready for bed
  • 10 p.m. bed

This schedule excludes Friday as I get off at 3:30.

So what I need help with is your exercise expertise.  According to SparkPeople I should be burning 288 calories per day and eating between 1200-1550 a day.

Below is my calories burned and calories consumed for this past week.  I haven’t had a chance to enter my projected calories consumed for Friday, Saturday and Sunday.  You can click those for a larger picture.

As you can see, I stay pretty close to the recommended calorie expenditure by SparkPeople.  Wednesday is really the only day I do a big workout.  Below are two charts showing calorie expenditure.

Calories eaten are in blue, calories burned in green are exercise and the calories burned in orange is my BMR.

Wednesday:

Thursday:

SparkPeople has my BMR at 1,926.  However, I used two different BMR calculators which stated that my BMR is 1,604.  Which mean I would need to burn far more calories.  I am concerned that with my sedentary lifestyle (apart from exercise), following SparkPeople’s recommendation is not quite right for me. 

My questions to you:

1.) Do you have a good resource for figuring out BMR?

2.) Do you have any suggestions for adapting my schedule to help fit in more exercise time?

3.) Do you have a 40 hour per week desk job where you sit all day long? If so how do you cope and stay fit?

Thank you all in advance for your awesome and most appreciated help!

P.S.  I am going to have to catch up on blog reading Saturday!  Sorry Gals.  I am having 20 people over at my house tomorrow night!  Yikes!

Have you entered the Kardea Bar Giveaway!?

Today’s Meal Plan

Thursday (approx 1495 cal. and 58 grams of fat):

Breakfast:  2 eggs , tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit, 1 c. milk and coffee

Snack: 1 serv. fruit

Lunch: Left over Greek Salad

Snack:  Tuna stuffed green pepper (1/2 green pepper stuffed with ½ can tuna and 1 tbsp light may with olive oil, topped with 1 oz cheese)

Dinner:  Tacos w/ 2 hard taco shells, ½ c. black beans, 1/4 avocado, 1 c. romaine, ¼ c. diced tomatoes, 2 tbsp. sour cream, and ¼ c. salsa.

Dessert: Ghirardelli dark chocolate square (50 calories)

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I need your exercise expertise

  1. I don’t have a desk job anymore, but I still sit a fair amount of the day, grading papers, office hours, etc. I try to get little short bursts of exercise into my day: push ups, squats, lunges, brisk walks, etc. They don’t seem like much when you do them throughout the day, but they really add up. I’m not sure if you can do them somewhere at work (break room, hallway, etc.). If not, maybe you can fit some more activity into your day after work. Or how about a short walk during lunch? I think adding two to three 10-15 minute sessions over the course of your day could really make a difference. But I know it’s not easy… Good luck! 🙂

  2. I like to do just ten minutes or so of yoga before I go to bed. It helps my body relax and wind down and get ready for sleep. I also do 10 minutes in the morning to wake myself up, although I see that’s already when you do your exercise. I certainly don’t have a sitting job at the moment, more like the opposite. But when I have, I would just try to get up and get water, etc. a lot. You could try those desk workouts!

  3. I struggle with fitting in more exercise just like you do! During the school year, I have to work out very early in the morning or late at night if I want to get a good workout in! Could you take a walk or something like that at lunch?

  4. Sojourner says:

    We should get a stationary bike for the back corner…by the AC 🙂

  5. Wow, you have quite the schedule!! Maybe you could walk to lunch on your lunch break? Or do some ewight/go for a walk for the first half hour, then eat the second half hour? Good luck!!

  6. My first instinct is that you are not eating enough. If you are doing any activity, as you are, then I would not recommend going below 2000. I actually had my BMR tested with this thing that you breath into. It is expensive, but very accurate.

  7. Pingback: Leftovers/Pantry/Freezer Week |

  8. Pingback: We’re all Winners with this Menu |

Comments are closed.