Everything tastes better on a hamburger bun

I feel like I am a pretty good judge of character.  I generally read people very well.  So last week after returning to work from lunch, I told my coworkers about a new recipe I created (Yes I created it on my lunch break).  When I described to them what I created, there were no oos and awes.  This means, bad idea.  Don’t feel bad girls, I ate it and I enjoyed every bite.

I think the problem wasn’t the recipe itself, but instead how it was presented.  I told them I created a bbq chicken salad sandwich.  There was one  “oh that sounds good” in response.  But, then I told them the ingredients.  Silence. 

When people think of a chicken salad sandwich, they think of chicken, mayo, onion, celery and either grapes or apples.  They don’t normally think of a Tex-Mex variation. Ooh that’s what I’ll call it…

Tex-Mex BBQ Chicken Salad Sandwich (how does that sound?)

I started with a whole wheat bun; Natures Pride to be exact.  Foodbuzz sent me a box of buns and hoagies to try out.  The whole wheat variety may have been too strong for this recipe.  However, this past weekend I splurged on a pulled BBQ pork sandwich.  The whole wheat bun balanced out the rich flavor of the BBQ pork.  My hubby has tried the hoagies and the buns.  He prefers the buns and says they are more moist.Back to the Tex-Mex recipe…

I mixed together:

  • 1/2 chopped green pepper
  • 1/4 red onion
  • 1 grilled sweet corn
  • 1 tbsp fresh cilantro
  • 1 chopped grilled chicken breast
  • 1 tbsp BBQ sauce
  • 1 tbsp Light Mayo (Kraft with olive oil — only 45 cal!)
  • 1 tbsp salsa
  • 1 tsp powdered ranch dressing mix

Ta-Da!   I felt like it needed more color so I added spinach and three tomato slices.  This recipe can make 2 maybe 3 sandwiches.

It was really messy, but really delicious!  I love fresh summer recipes.

What summer recipes have you created/eaten so far?  Has it even reached summer where you live?

Have you entered the Kardea Bar Giveaway!?

Today’s Meal Plan:

Wednesday (approx 1435 cal. and 45 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv.  fruit  (Not on the meal plan…small slice of chocolate cake.  So good too)

Lunch:  ½ c. yogurt, 1 serv. fruit and ½ c. granola

Snack:  ½ c. salsa, ¼ c. black beans and 2 corn tortillas (cut into triangles and baked)

Dinner:  Greek Salad (1/2 c. cooked couscous, 3 tbsp. hummus, 1 oz feta cheese, ½ c. cucumbers, ¼ c. tomatoes, 2 tbsp red onions, and 1 c. romaine) and 1 c. milk

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Everything tastes better on a hamburger bun

  1. I don’t eat chicken, but the sandwich looks good. I’m surprised your co-workers wouldn’t think it sounded good.

  2. Tes says:

    This sounds so yummy… it looks very amazing, too. My family will love it. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Simply Life says:

    Oooh I’d definitely “ah” at that one – looks great!

  4. thehungryscholar says:

    AHHH! Those look great. Must try them.

    I want to learn to make strawberry shortcake! I’m sure it cannot be that difficult.

  5. I think that if I would have explained it better, they would have appreciated it. 🙂

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    being a judge of character is a great quality to have. you’ll marry someone wonderful!
    also, being a judge of what mixes together in recipes is a talent you obviously have. I think this looks great

  7. I’m not a fan of traditional chicken salad…so to me, this sounds AWESOME!! Love this and I am definitely going to have to try it!

  8. I’ll ohh and ahhh for that sandwich! It looks great! 🙂

  9. That sandwich looks amazing! My favorite summer meal is grilled chicken and veggies 🙂

  10. I love the name, I can picture it on a menu!

  11. Oh wow, that looks sooo good! What a delicious, protein packed creation!

  12. That looks seriously delicious!!!

    It’s 98 degrees here in Baltimore today…so I’d say yeah, it’s reached summer! 🙂

  13. I really like the idea behind this chicken salad sandwich! Sometimes it’s good to do something a little out of the ordinary 🙂 As for summer, it’s totally here. I live in Phoenix and it’s been summer for what feels like ever now. 112 is the high today…:/ I surprisingly, haven’t made homemade ice cream yet, but cannot wait to!

  14. actorsdiet says:

    it’s warm in l.a., but definitely not like the rest of the country!

  15. Sarah Clews says:

    Just wanted to let you know that I love this recipe! I found it is easier to eat in a tortilla. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Comments are closed.