Meal Plan June 21-27

At 6:30 a.m. this morning I pulled into the parking lot of my local grocery store, and I wondered, “What kind of a person buys groceries at 6:30 a.m.?”

For the first 15 minutes of my crack-of-dawn shopping trip, I perused the empty isles like a lone chicken farmer checking her hens for eggs.  The quiet was almost eerie.  Well, it would have been eerie if I was awake enough to think about it.

Slowly, more early risers trickled through the automatic double doors.  One mom hurried her daughter to the granola bar display and practically ran back to the cashier to make it in time for Starbucks.  Other tired-eyed shoppers included a business woman in need of a chocolate milk fix, and about five blue collar type working men.  All of whom were gathering sustenance to put in their lunch pail for the long day ahead.

And then there was me.  The only get-up-at-5-a.m.-to-run-and-grocery-shop enthusiast.  The only one who carefully smelled produce and felt guilty about using a seventh plastic produce bag.  The only one equipped with a printed pre-planned menu in hand, checking off items from my list.

After my post on perfectionism, I had to wonder, “Is this me attempting to be perfect again?”

The answer is…No.  This is simply time management in motion, AND one way I know to avoid the stress and anxiety cause by the wide spreading disease known as perfectionistaitis (that’s perfection-ista-itis).

Time Management: If I don’t work out in the morning, I don’t workout.  Why?  Because I am s-t-a-rving when I get home from work.  If I sit down to eat dinner, I don’t get back up.

Avoiding perfectionism: Because being prepared with my meals planned out and my groceries in stock means I don’t freak out about what to eat or what I’m eating.  The calories are already counted.  I just have to make sure I stick to the plan as closely as I can, without being a total spaz.

So anyway, here is this week’s meal plan. What I’ve done this week, is copied my first menu, but I’m re-vamping the snacks to add a little more protein and fiber, and therefore a little more sustenance in the afternoon (as I’ve found myself snacking on peanut butter crackers at work).

Do you exercise or grocery shop in the morning?  and/or What is your favorite healthy snack?

Oh and don’t forget to enter the Kardea Bar Giveaway!

Meal Plan

Monday (approx 1566 cal. and 53 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv. Fruit

Lunch:  2 slices of whole wheat bread w/ 1 tbsp PB & 1tbsp. natural jam, ½ yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Snack:  1 serv. veggies, 1 oz. cheese, 2 WASA crackers or 1 serv. whole wheat crackers, and 2 tbsp hummus

Dinner:  1 serv. tilapia w/ 1 c. stir fry veggies, and  ½ c. brown  rice

Dessert: Ghirardelli dark chocolate square (50 calories)

Tuesday (approx 1570 cal. and 52 grams of fat):

Breakfast: 2 pieces toast, w/ 1 tbsp PB & 1tbsp. natural jam, ½ c yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Snack:   1 serv.  Fruit

Lunch:  1 c. left over stir fry veggies, ½ c. rice w/ ½ chicken breast

Snack:  Tuna stuffed green pepper (1/2 green pepper stuffed with ½ can tuna and 1 tbsp light may with olive oil, topped with 1 oz cheese)

Dinner:  Spinach, Pasta and Walnut Salad (See Recipe) , 1 c. milk

Wednesday (approx 1435 cal. and 45 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv.  fruit

Lunch:  ½ c. yogurt, 1 serv. fruit and ½ c. granola

Snack:  ½ c. salsa, ¼ c. black beans and 2 corn tortillas (cut into triangles and baked)

Dinner:  Greek Salad (1/2 c. cooked couscous, 3 tbsp. hummus, 1 oz feta cheese, ½ c. cucumbers, ¼ c. tomatoes, 2 tbsp red onions, and 1 c. romaine) and 1 c. milk

Thursday (approx 1495 cal. and 58 grams of fat):

Breakfast:  2 eggs , tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit, 1 c. milk and coffee

Snack: 1 serv. fruit

Lunch: Left over Greek Salad

Snack:  Tuna stuffed green pepper (1/2 green pepper stuffed with ½ can tuna and 1 tbsp light may with olive oil, topped with 1 oz cheese)

Dinner:  Tacos w/ 2 hard taco shells, ½ c. black beans, 1/4 avocado, 1 c. romaine, ¼ c. diced tomatoes, 2 tbsp. sour cream, and ¼ c. salsa.

Dessert: Ghirardelli dark chocolate square (50 calories)

Friday (approx 1410 cal. and 65 grams of fat):

Breakfast:  1 serv. Oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Left over Black Bean and Avocado Taco Salad

Snack:  1 serv. veggies, 1 oz. cheese, 2 WASA crackers or 1 serv. whole wheat crackers, and 2 tbsp hummus

Dinner: Turkey Burgers

Saturday (approx 14170 cal. and 56 grams of fat):

Breakfast:  1 Oatmeal Cinnamon Raisin Waffles (See Recipe) w/ peanut butter and 1-2 serv. fruit, and 1 c. milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Lunch: Open-face tuna melt sandwich (2 slices whole wheat bread, 1 can tuna fish, 1 oz cheese, 4 slices tomatoes) w/ 1 serv. veggies

Snack:  Coffee w/ ¼ c. milk and Stevia

Dinner:  2 Ham and Cheese Beer Batter Crepes (See Recipe) w/ salad (1 c. romaine, tomatoes, 1 tbs. dressing)

Sunday (approx 1525 cal. and 46 grams of fat):

Breakfast: 2 slices toast w/ 1 tbsp PB & 1 tbsp jelly and 1 c. milk

Snack:

Lunch:  1 c. Chicken noodle Soup (store bought or homemade), 5 saltine crackers, 1 c. romaine w/1 tbsp dressing and 1 serv. fruit

Snack:  1 serv. fruit and 1 serv. veggies

Dinner:  Panini (2 slices of bread w/  2 tbsp. Hummus, ¼ c. spinach, 1 oz feta and 4 slices of tomatoes)

Dessert:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Meal Plan June 21-27

  1. I need to try grocery shopping that early in the morning! I think it would be so peaceful and a little bit relaxing! Your meal plan for the week sounds great!

  2. I’m exactly the same as you in that after work I am tired and hungry…there is no way I am working out then! So I’ve been getting up at 5:00 to work out in the morning, and so far it’s working well. I’ve never thought to go grocery shopping that early, though! Usually my husband and I go over the weekend, which isn’t the ideal time, but it works.

  3. thehungryscholar says:

    I need to start meal planning. Lars and I are about to live together and we like to shop based on interest, and without any planning involved. Of course, this wastes money. So, thanks for sharing your own planning. It is a great help.

    I LOVE SHOPPING EARLY IN THE MORNING. I get annoyed at the grocery store often by the other shoppers. They often take up the entire aisle. I hate it!

  4. I love to grocery shop early in the morning when it isn’t too crowded and the shelves are freshly stocked. I don’t get to do it that often, but I still love it! 🙂
    It’s interesting you brought up, is this perfectionism? I catch myself asking the same question during certain behaviors. Maybe there is a fine line between “I have to do it like this” and “it makes the most sense for me to do it like this”.
    My favorite healthy snack right now is almonds, but it changes! 🙂

  5. Hey girl! Are you sure your calorie intake is not a bit too low? You might have more energy for a later workout if you bumped it up a tad. Just a suggestion, but you know your body best!

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    I had to go to walmart one morning because I was seriously out of EVERYTHING to eat and there is a super one not too far. I went there at 6 (when they open) and was not the first one there by any means! I was surprised how many people were there

  7. I definitely exercise in the morning – usually before any of the kids are awake. I like grocery shopping first thing, but I usually go during the 2-year old’s naptime – that way my oldest teenagers have it easy!

  8. Well, it may seem that way. But I am only able to burn about 300 calories a day when I exercise. The rest of my day is spent sitting at a desk (9-10 hours). According to SparkPeople I need to eat 1550 calories or less and burn at least 288 calories. So unfortunately, I don’t get to eat much.

Comments are closed.