Creamy Salmon Lemon Sauce over Pasta

Tuesday night I re-created one of my recipes from the old blog.  This meal adds in a little purreed cauliflower, but is not necessarily a “light meal.”  It’s only low in calories if you only have 1 serving of pasta, which is 1/2 a cup.  Did you know that?  For the longest time I thought it was 1 cup.

I love this meal.  The white sauce, despite the cauliflower is so creamy and it has just the right amount of lemon and dill.  🙂Creamy Salmon Lemon Sauce over Pasta

Ingredients (serves 4-6):

  • 1 can of canned pink salmon
  • 1 cup of Milk
  • 1/2 cup light cream cheese
  • 1/2 cup pureed cauliflower
  • Juice from the can of salmon
  • Juice from 1 a lemon, plus a little added lemon zest
  • 2 tsp of dill
  • 1 tsp salt
  • Desired amount of whole wheat pasta

First, start the water for the pasta. Meanwhile, heat the milk on medium heat, stirring frequently. Add the cauliflower puree, and cream cheese. Allow the cream cheese to melt. Next add the lemon juice and zest, dill and salmon. If necessary, add a little bit of corn starch (follow directions on box) to thicken. Serve over pasta.

In other news

My friend needs your help, Alli, aka Little (A) is trying to perfect her Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe.  If all you bakers there could help her solve her delima, that would be great. Check it out littlea55.wordpress.com.

Also, my coworkers and I may or may not have created a new blog.  All you office workers out there may appreciate this: 4 Ladies and an Office.

Tonight’s menu:

Thursday:

Breakfast:   2 eggs , 1 oz cheese, tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit and c. milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Lunch:  Left Over Walnut Pear Salad and 1 splice of whole wheat bread

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  BBQ Chicken (1/2 breast), corn on the cob w/ 1 tbsp Smart Balance Butter, and ½ c. fresh green beans.

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creamy Salmon Lemon Sauce over Pasta

  1. This looks delish! I didn’t realize 1 serving of pasta is only half a cup…whoops!

    I love the idea of your office blog! I’ll definitely have to check it out!!

  2. Simply Life says:

    what a delicious pasta dish!

  3. Oh that looks so yummy- comfort food! I can’t wait to try it!

    PS- Who can limit themselves to just 1/2 c of pasta?! 😉

  4. little (A) says:

    This looks so good; I wish I liked Salmon!

  5. That looks delicious – and such a great picture too. I’m terrible at taking pictures of food. It should be easy because it doesn’t move! Hope you have a terrific weekend.

  6. 4 ladies and an office is too funny! Love it!

  7. Sounds like a great recipe! I love anything with salmon. I don’t use the canned kind much, but it’s so much cheaper which is nice!

  8. Great dish! I think I’ll have to “borrow” the recipe! 🙂

    Happy Weekend!

Comments are closed.