Ice Cream Sandwich…or is it??

For awhile there I thought summer had graced itself upon the Northwest.  The thermometer rose way past 80 on Saturday and we reached into the high 70s on Sunday.  In honor of summer’s visit, I diligently made an effort to complete a number of summary tasks on the “Summer is Here” to do list.  BBQ, check.  Sit around fire pit into evening, check.  S’mores, check.  Fans in the living room, check.  But something seemed to be missing.  As I sat in front of the fan Sunday afternoon and starred at the TV, my mouth heated up like a smoldering, humid furnace.  I headed to the kitchen to pour yet another glass of water.  Then it hit me.  The one thing my summery experience lacked was  ICE CREAM!!!

I scream, you scream. We all scream for ICE CREAM!

But the idea of having even a small pint of creamy, smooth deliciousness in my freezer scares me to no end.  Luckily, I had some frozen bananas in my fridge waiting to be turned into one of the best inventions in the BLOG UNIVERSE, banana soft serve.  I have absolutely no idea who first invented said banana soft serve.  But, the small gears in my brain have been a-turning for some time now to go beyond banana soft serve and chocolate sauce.  I bring to you a Shawnee Creation, destined to satisfy that I’m-craving-ice-cream-now sweet tooth…

Banana Soft Serve sandwiches

Ingredients (serves 2):

  • Frozen Bananas
  • Nutella
  • Gram Crackers (regular or chocolate

Directions: Freeze a banana, cut in fourths (or more), in a freezer bag.  Place banana in food processor and process the heck out of that baby until it is the same consistency of soft serve.  You may have to pull out a spatula and work the banana to cooperate with the blade.  Place about a tbsp of Nutella on both sides of the graham cracker, then spread on 1/2 of the banana.  Then freeze for at least a couple hours.

Voila!  Oh I enjoyed every bite.  What summer treat have you enjoyed already?

Here’s what I ate today…

Tuesday:

Breakfast:   2 Oatmeal and Raisin Waffles see recipe (or frozen whole wheat waffles) w/ peanut butter and 1 serv. fruit, and 1 c. milk

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Left over Enchiladas and salad

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Dinner:  Creamy Salmon Lemon Pasta (see recipe) with ½ c. Cooked broccoli

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Ice Cream Sandwich…or is it??

  1. Now that is a great idea for an ice cream sandwich!! So simple, but I bet it was just awesome! I’m going to try it as I think I have all the ingredients on hand!

  2. Maybe you could get the little single serve size ice creams so you can enjoy ice cream without being tempted to go overkill.

  3. mmoyal85 says:

    Oh man, Nutella is my FAV!!!! I’ve yet to make banana soft serve, but I’m super curious!!! I think I might just have to try this 🙂

  4. That sounds absolutely delicious! I saw a recipe someone did for vanilla ice cream that was super low in calories. If I find it again I’ll email it to you!

  5. Hm, I’ll have to try that banana recipe! I’ve had frozen bananas, but never all pureed like ice cream. Sounds good!

  6. Simply Life says:

    oooh looks like the perfect summer treat!

  7. actorsdiet says:

    delicious! i like the way you think!

  8. thehungryscholar says:

    I love Nutella like my own child.

    I need to try that recipe so the Nutella-love can continue.

  9. What a great idea! It looks delicious!

  10. little (A) says:

    I can not wait to try these this weekend. You are full of brilliant ideas as always!

  11. Kate says:

    oh man! that does sound good! i love eating frozen, creamy goodness this time of year.

  12. okay. wow. that banana ice cream ‘wich looks fabulous! I’ve heard of doing cool whip in between graham crackers but cool whip is kinda icky… this sounds so much better! Thanks for the tip 🙂

  13. Pingback: Busy Weekend « Little (A)

Comments are closed.