Getting to Know You Party!

Happy Monday Lovlies!  I hope you’re all rested from the weekend, and I know you’re eager to get back to work today!  😛  Ok, maybe eager is the wrong word.  Despite my Maddie Girl getting her paw gnawed on by another angry mut, my weekend was great.

I started my weekend off by hosting a “Getting to Know You” party for my two beautiful besties.  This past year has been crazy busy for the three of us so we haven’t had the chance to get together much.  We also decided we needed to “get to know” each other again.  We’re all different and at different stages of our lives, so this was a good chance to catch up and  talk about our changes.

I asked the girls to bring with them:

  • The best movie they watched this year
  • Their fave. new artist/band this year
  • A sample of the best new food they’ve eaten this year

Also, I asked them to come prepared to talk about their goals, biggest fears and current challenges.  We ate good food and chatted around the fire.
Maddie chilled with the girls too.  I cooked for them a new turkey burger recipe (my own creation, which I plan to share with you in a couple weeks for Foodbuzz’s 24 x 24 x24!!!).  We feasted on grilled asparagus, grilled pineapple, and cooked s’mores over my new fire pit!  Michelle also brought some of the most amazing vegan cupcakes I’ve ever put my mouth around!  Let’s just say we ate well.       I am so excited to share my recipe with ya’ll.  I’m also equally excited to have been selected for 24x24x24.  😀  It takes place June 27!

After eating, we walked to the Red Box and rented “Shutter Island”!  OMG!  I highly recommend it.  After the movie, we chatted the night away, literally.  We were up until 4 a.m. having a sort of therapy session. haha.  We just chatted about life and some struggles we’ve had this past year (and I mean the 26th year of our lives).

On Saturday is when Maddie got her paw bitten.  Luckily the girls were with me to help wrap up her bloody, sore paw.  Mi chicas hung out at the vet with me for 2 hours.  What friends!

  After Maddie was all doctored and drugged up, we went home, ate breakfast burritos and watched Michelle’s fave. movie, which is “The Hurt Locker.”  Brittany’s fave. movie is “Cinderella,” an oldie but a goodie.  🙂  I chose “Alice and Wonderland,” but we opted to watch Shutter Island instead.  LOL

Anyway, I had a blast.  🙂  What did you do this weekend?

Today’s Meal Plan

Monday :

Breakfast:   Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  2 slices of whole wheat bread w/ 1 tbsp PB & 1tbsp. natural jam, 2 serv. fresh veggies

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Dinner:  Enchiladas (2 corn tortillas w/ 2 oz extra lean beef, 1 oz cheese, ¼ c. Enchilada sauce,  1 tbsp sour cream) and salad (1 c. Romaine, 1 tbsp ranch, 1 tbsp salsa, ¼ c. Diced tomatoes)

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Getting to Know You Party!

  1. I absolutely love the idea of a “getting to know you” party! This is so clever and fun! 🙂

  2. This sounds like so much fun! What a great idea! I”m so glad that you guys had a good time!

  3. This is such an amazing idea! I would love to do something like that this summer 🙂

  4. What a wonderful idea! I haven’t thrown a party in a long time – I really need to be more social!

  5. Simply Life says:

    what a fun party!

  6. What a great party idea… nothing beats quality catch up time with the girls!

  7. Lindsay says:

    Congrats on being picked for Foodbuzz! That’s so exciting. Great idea having the girls bring their fave food so far this year.

  8. genius party idea! i love it!

  9. actorsdiet says:

    i need to put “shutter island” on my netflix queue. i forgot i wanted to see it when it was out in theaters.

Comments are closed.