Habit Guide

Thank you to all who added on to my little Weekend Healthy Habit Guide!  There are some great answers and many fabulous habit building ideas, which I hope to start incorporating.  I’ve posted all of your great ideas below, followed by my originals.  If anyone thinks of anything else, please comment!  I’d love to hear your thoughts on staying healthy during the weekend!

The Weekend Healthy Habit Guide

Brittany from A Healthy Slice of Life

Bad Habit/Situation: One habit I see in my clients…Not measuring foods

Good Habit: No one likes to be forced to measure every morsel that goes into their mouth, but when weight loss is your goal, it helps to make sure you are accurately tracking your calories and/or dietary exchanges. Don’t haul your measuring cups with you while you’re out, but at home, measure your ingredients to ensure you are eating the correct portion and develop a good eyeballing measurements skill. It’s amazing how quickly a 1/2 c can morph into a 1.5 c!

Katie @ Health for Whole Self

Bad Habit/Situation: Indulging in “special treats” all weekend long – dessert Friday, breakfast out on Saturday, latte on Sunday, etc.

Good Habit: Choose one special indulgence per weekend, and really take the time to savor every moment of it.

Kara@ Mywellnest

Bad Habit/Situation: Weddings + Celebrations = Booze! Which can lead to more eating!

Good Habit: Whenever I make my own drink, I pack my glass with ice so there is less room for liquid and the ice dilutes it a bit. If I’m at a wedding or event where the bartender makes the drink I often order my drink in some sort of spritzer form and make myself drink water in between drinks.

Bad Habit/Situation:  Eating out / eating take out all weekend because I didn’t plan / feel lazy / the list goes on…

Good Habit: Plan ahead! I look at my weekend schedule to see when we have plans that result in eating out, then I fill in the other meals with healthier options. I use the weekends to try new recipes that might take more time than usual. I also try to make weekend meals a little more fun!

Other Fantastic Healthy Tips:

Megan @ Oatmeal Diaries

I definitely think it is a great idea to eat small meals throughout the day because going too long without food makes me grouchy and then I eat anything in sight. You should of course still enjoy your latte though!

Lynn from The Actor’s Diet

I find that i just enjoy truly special foods when i’m eating at a party or celebration. i can get potato chips, cheese, and crackers any day but not pigs in a blanket!!!

My Healthy Habits…

Bad Habit:  Potlucks.  Baptists + Summer = Potlucks.  Potlucks = Not very healthy dishes.  A forgotten potluck appeared on my schedule this weekend.  My plate included: 1 cup of fruit, ½ cup baked beans, 1 cup of jambalaya, and about a tbsp of mac-n-cheese (which wasn’t that good).  I probably should have stuck with…

Good Habit: Divide or proportion your plate.  Fill ½ your plate or more with veggies, fruit and green salads.  And then have about ½ cup to 1 cup of a healthier dish such as: spaghetti, chicken and rice, beans, etc.  Steer clear of potato/macaroni or other mayonnaise-y dishes.  Also, fried chicken, meatballs, mac-n- cheese, au gratin potatoes and basically anything fried or covered in cheese.  You know, stay away from all the tasty stuff.

Bad Habit/Situation: BBQs. Graduation, Father’s Day, birthdays, just because, church (ours happens weekly), etc.

Good Habit:  Just say no! Most of the above rules apply, plus to save on extra calories say no to cheese (sad day!),mayo and potato chips.  Perhaps you could bring your own whole wheat sandwich thins. Or is that tacky?  I’ve heated up my own veggie burgers at my church BBQs (did I mention they happen every single Sunday May-September?), I’ve also had meatless burgers too!  Anyone have anything else to add to this one?

Bad Habit/Situation: Skipping meals.  I have this odd habit of skipping meals on the weekend so I can get a latte.  I even planned one in to my menu this week!  I know that this is a really bad habit to have, not just on the weekend but any day!

Good Habit:  Eat at least three meals, even if they’re smaller, and enjoy a small version of my favorite treat.  Such as tall and nonfat.

Today’s Menu

Thursday (approx 1600 cal. and 50 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   2 eggs , tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit and c. milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Lunch:  Left Over Root Veggie and Peanut Stir Fry and 1 serv. cheese

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  The hubby made me a pita sandwich with turkey, ham, cheddar, tomatoes and Red Roasted Pepper and Tomato Soup!  Suggested Meal: Quesadilla (w/ 1 oz.cheese, ½ c. black beans, ½ c. salsa, 1 tbsp sour cream topped with shredded romaine)

For the rest of this week’s meal plan, click here.

I’ll be posting the Weekend Healthy Habit Guide tomorrow!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Habit Guide

  1. I love Brittany’s comment because I can easily eyeball a cup of cereal and wind up with more like 2-3 haha.

  2. I have a tendency to eat much more unhealthy during the weekend. I think a good indulgence should be allowed, but not an all weekend splurge. Usually my sleep schedule is thrown off and this tends to affect the foods I choose, something I plan on working on!

Comments are closed.