No Food Left Behind!

Yesterday I received an anticipated flyer on my door.   The title on the flyer says, “Same Cart — New Name!”  My yard debris waste cart is now the “Mixed Organics Cart.”  It seems silly that I would be excited about a name change, but its more than that.  It means, 1.) In addition to our yard waste, we can now add all food waste, meat, produce, grains, breads, shells, and bones; and 2.) The yard waste bin will be picked up every week.  It tends to fill up fast.

The contents of the “Mixed Organics Cart” will now be disposed of as compost and we’ll be able to replenish the earth without having our own compost pile!  I am also ecstatic that we can throw in cardboard (such as pizza boxes), coffee grounds and filters, paper towels, napkins and paper plates (the ones that aren’t waxy).  I’m seriously a little giddy right now. That last point means I can buy paper plates, use them and not fill guilty about throwing them away.  Woohoo!  Um, you’d be excited too if you didn’t have a dishwasher. 😛

In addition to the Mixed Organics Cart, we also have a small waste bin, a huge recycling bin and a small bin for glass and some other more hazardous waste products.  Oregon is green (quite literally) and I guess we’re stickin’ to it!

Question:  How does your city help you “go green?”  What proactive measures do you take to keep our Earth clean?

As for the The Weekend Healthy Habit Guide…

To those of you who have answered so far, thanks.  Your answers are really good and fun to read.  🙂  For those of you who would still like to submit an answer to be displayed on my blog, along with your name and blog link, read yesterdays post and get on it!  I will be compiling the answers and posting them Thursday night.  Please have them in by Thursday at 11 a.m. Pacific Standard Time. 

Today’s Menu:

Tuesday (approx 1456 cal. and 36 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   2 Oatmeal and Raisin Waffles see recipe (or frozen whole wheat waffles) w/ peanut butter and 1 serv. fruit, and 1 c. milk

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Left over Teriyaki Chicken Stir Fry

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Dinner:  Panini (2 slices of whole wheat bread, 1 oz. mozzarella, 4 tomato slices, basil) and cup of Pacific Natural Food’s Red Roasted Pepper and Tomato Soup

For the rest of this week’s meal plan, click here.

Have a fantabulously wonderful evening.  🙂

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No Food Left Behind!

  1. Kate says:

    that is so cool! i want my city to start doing that too. we have tons of recycling stuff around and really good bike trails. i think on the whole minneapolis is pretty green which is nice.

  2. Simply Life says:

    oh that is something I would definitely get excited about too! 🙂

  3. Sojourner says:

    Yay! You can buy paper plates! 🙂 I would probably be just as excited if I had my own place and could get that type of garbage can.

  4. Wow that’s really cool! I wish my city did something like that. Hooray for going GREEN 🙂

  5. That is so cool!!!!! Go Oregon!!!!!!

Comments are closed.