Food: The key to a woman’s heart

 A Quick post tonight. 

All I need to say is: my husband cooked me dinner… from a recipe!  I took a picture of Josh taking his meal from the oven.  He said, “You don’t need to take a picture, I’ve cooked before.”  However, in the past 5.5 years we’ve been married, this is the first time I recall him cooking for me.  This is a very special day.  And if I ever get my scrapbook out, it’s going in there!

His gourmet meal was an easy, satisfying and tasty meal:  French bread with tomato slices, mozzarella and basil, served with a romaine salad.  It came from the appetizer section of a 20 minute meal or less cookbook.    As you can see it’s served on our best dinnerware.  😛

Anyway, on to today’s menu…

Thursday (approx 1600 cal. and 50 grams of fat): 

Breakfast:   2 Oatmeal and Raisin Waffles see recipe (or frozen whole wheat waffles) w/ peanut butter and 1 serv. fruit, and 1 c. milk

Snack:  1 serv. fruit, coffee with 1 serv. Silk and Stevia

Lunch:  Grilled Chicken Salad (1 c. romaine, ½ c. spinach, 1 serv. carrots, 1 tbsp. onions, ½ c. tomatoes, ¼ c. green peppers, ½ chicken breast, 1 tbsp. dressing) and  1 serv. whole wheat bread.

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  Italian Ciabatta Bake (2 oz. Ciabatta bread baked w/ 1 serv. mozzarella, 6 slices tomatoes, basil and drizzle of olive oil) and 2 serv. cooked veggies.

Take a peak at this week’s menu: Click Here.

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Food: The key to a woman’s heart

  1. the dinner looks great- I absolutely love fresh basil- I had some yesterday and I can’t get it outta my mind now!

  2. What a sweet husband!! I have to say that this looks really yummy!!! I’ve never thought to top french bread like this…I’m definitely going to have to try!!!

  3. little (A) says:

    Love it… you can’t go wrong with fresh basil and mozzarella!

  4. your pizza looks sooo much better than my frozen one- blah! What a sweet hubby! 🙂

  5. Simply Life says:

    Pizza bread and salad = the perfect pair!

  6. actorsdiet says:

    my hubby’s been cooking more lately – it’s such a nice change!

Comments are closed.