Te amo Huevos!

(What I’m thinking about eating for dinner.  I may have spoiled my dinner as I ate a cup of chicken noodle soup in a stomach growling rage right before Zumba.  Picture from old blog.)

I ate my lunch at 10:30 a.m. this morning.  I wasn’t hungry.  It wasn’t lunch time.  I didn’t skip breakfast.  I was stressed.  I am an emotional eater and today confirmed this.  I have never really experienced work related stress.  College stress, yes.  I’m a pro!  Work stress, not so much.  But lately, I’ve been feeling it.

Question: Have you experienced work related stress?  If so how do you deal with it without consuming your entire lunch 2-3 hours early?

One way I relieve stress is exercise; mostly Zumba and Yoga.  I run, but sometimes I think that might cause me additional stress!?  Sometimes I wish I could drop what ever I am working on and pull out a quick tree pose and a couple OMs.  Or perhaps a quick chasse’ down the hall way.

Zumba. There are few things I am amused at enough to want to write about them.  Zumba is one of them.  I am convinced that there are three types of people who take a Zumba class:

  1. Women who can’t dance, know they can’t dance, but dance with reckless abandon.
  2. Women who can’t dance, think they can dance and shake their booties for anyone who look their way.
  3. Women who’ve taken dance at some point in their lives and act like it, even though they haven’t put on a dance shoe for 9 years and are terribly out of shape.

I am proud to admit I am a 3.  🙂  Yes, I was the kid who put my family through 11 years of dance lessons and recitals; countless outfits made from neon polyester/spandex with sequence; toyed with the idea of being a dance instructor; and for a year taught 5 year olds how to plie.

I’m the one who gets a kick out of jazz hands, and sometimes I hope the Zumba instructor glances an approving eye my way.  And tonight — tonight I am fully convinced that the instructor played “All that Jazz” and conducted a kick-line just for me.  Just. For. Me.

I’m feeling less stressed anyway.

So if you’re stressed, I say, “!bilamos!”  Let the rhythm take you over senorita and bilamos! (I know that says “we dance,” but whatever.)

Tonight’s planned dinner:

Huevos Rancheros con Oatmeal

Ingredients:

  • 2 eggs (140 calories)
  • 2 corn tortillas (100 cal.)
  • 1/4 cup oats (140 cal)
  • 1/4 cup salsa (25 cal)

Directions (requires basic cooking skills). Preheat oven to 400. Place the corn tortillas on a cooking sheet. I did not keep track of the time, but the tortillas will be nice and crispy when they are finished.

While the tortillas are baking. Fry the eggs over easy and put 1/2 a cup (or less) in a bowl with water. Microwave oats for 3.5 minutes (or follow package directions). When oats are finished add a pinch of chili powder, and a little garlic powder and salt.

When the tortillas are nice and crispy, layer on the tortillas, oats, salsa and eggs. Top the juevos with a little hot sauce for an added zing.

Wednesday (approx 1569 cal. and 50 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   ½ c. yogurt, 2 serv. fruit, ½ c. granola, 1 piece of toast with 1 tbsp jam

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Left over Tuna Salad Sandwich and 1 serv. veggies

Snack:  1 serv. cheese, 1 serv. veggies, coffee and 1 serv. Silk

Dinner:  Juevos Rancheros, 2 serv. cooked veggies and 1 c. milk.

Click here: for the rest of this week’s meal plan.

Hasta Manana senoritas y senoras bellas!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Te amo Huevos!

  1. little (A) says:

    I feel ya on the stress! I would say I would probably be in the first category. Can’t dance, I am aware of this and I don’t care I will dance if I want to. 🙂

  2. Sojourner says:

    I dance in my car. Does that count?

  3. Simply Life says:

    wow, those eggs look delicious!

  4. That’s funny, we did kind of write about the same stuff! Great minds think alike! I love your three people who take zumba, too funny and so true!

  5. HAHA! I am sooooo with you! I am a Zumba #3 as well, and have secretly begged in my head for the Zumba instructor to look over and give me two big thumbs up when I’m in the middle of nailing a dance move… thanks so much for letting me know I’m not the only one 🙂

  6. HA! I’m totally a #3, too – LOVE THIS

  7. Sonia says:

    haha! I am a hybrid of 1 and 3. I have taken classes (and let people know it), still can’t dance, and dance my heart out whenever I can!

    The eggs look awesome! I go through phases with eggs…and I think that picture is turning me back on to them!

  8. actorsdiet says:

    stress is er….stressful! i try to breathe or journal my frustrations away!

  9. I do the same thing when stressed!

    Those eggs look yummy…I might have to make something like that for breakfast tomorrow!

  10. Chasse away!!!!!! Really, if helps with stress reduction 🙂 I take mini walks at work to deal with super stressful moments. Our mailbox is about 1/8 of a mile from our office and I will find something to mail, walk slowly to the mailbox, breathe, and enjoy the fresh air. It helps a little, but maybe next time I’ll chasse….or step ball change.

    I’m #3 for sure 🙂

  11. Megan: Great minds do think alike. Or do they think differently? Woah that one will blow your mind. 😛

    Zumba #3s: Holla!

    Thanks everyone for commenting and giving me some ideas about controlling/reducing stress. Blogging seems to help too!

Comments are closed.