Menu planning 101

(My  weekly menu planning mess…)

Megan from the Oatmeal Diaries asked a very good question in response to this week’s meal plan. She asked, “Do you always stick to this plan 100% or do you sometimes deviate?”

The answer is no not 100% of the time.  Especially on the weekends!  During the week it is easier for me to stick to my plan because I work 40 hours a week.  Some days I am at work for 10 hours. *sighs*  Actually, having my meals planned out ahead of time makes my work week so much smoother.  I am able to wake up, eat breakfast, grab my lunch and snacks, and when I get home I can relax knowing that I have all the ingredients to cook dinner and that some of them are already prepped! For me, the best part is not having to count calories (I despise calorie counting).

The weekend.  Oh the weekend.  It is a much different story.  Take this weekend for example…

My mom decided (after I had planned my menu) that she wanted to have her b-day party this week.  I figured it would be the next.  So my whole Sunday plan was out the window.  Not only that but two meals for today were shot as well because… On the way to my mom’s house (1.5 hours away) I stopped to stretch and let my dog go potty.  I noticed that one of my tires started to shred!!  Luckily, I stopped in a parking lot with a tire shop.  My mom had to come rescue me and we decided it would be best if I just spent the night.  And well, there went breakfast today.  Josh and I decided to eat out for lunch instead of dinner and we just skipped dinner all together.

The weekend was semi successful!  I was able to stick to my plan for Saturday though.  Plus I had a ton of fun at my mom’s.  Even though the weekends are hard to stick with, it is wonderful knowing I do have a plan.  I use my plan on the weekends kind of like an outline.  I figure if I have breakfast and lunch, but something comes up for dinner that means I just have X amount of calories to work with.  I don’t know it seems to be an ok process.  Anyway, here is what today’s plan was supposed to be.  I only got the eating out part right… 

Monday (approx 1550 cal. And 65 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   2 egg omelet (with 1 serv. Cheese, ¼ c. tomatoes, ¼ c. spinach, 1 small mushroom, tbsp. onions, and ¼ c. salsa), 1 slice whole wheat bread, 1 c. milk, Coffee and Stevia

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Lunch:  Pita Bread Pizza (w/ ¼ c. marinara, 1 oz. cheese, 4 slices tomatoes, and basil), romaine salad w/ 1 tbsp. dressing.

Snack:  1 serv. fruit

Dinner:  I’m eating dinner out with my honey.  Suggested meal :  1 serv. BBQ Chicken, Corn on the Cob and 1 serv. of green veggies.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Menu planning 101

  1. I love to meal plan…I usually just plan dinner though! I have also found that you have to be flexible with it because things always come up!!

  2. I’m happy I got a shoutout! =D
    I can definitely see how planning your meals ahead of time would make things easier, especially with work. I couldn’t do that only because I am not very flexible and would freak out if I suddenly had to switch up what I had planned! Pita bread pizza sounds yummy 🙂

  3. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    I’m so impressed! organization is my vanity

Comments are closed.