Innovative Taco Solutions

(Tonight’s Dinner:  Black Bean and Avocado Tacos with romaine, cilantro, tomatoes, sour cream, salsa and extra for a salad)

Innovative Solution #1:

Frugality in the kitchen is of utmost importance to me.  My problem: I prefer hard taco shells and my husband prefers soft.  The question: To buy an entire pack of crunchy taco shells or not to buy?  Hmmm why waste 6 perfectly good shells?  My solution: Make my own!

Here’s how I did it.  I pre-heated the oven to 400 degrees; microwaved two corn tortillas 30 seconds until they were pliable; draped the tortillas over a deep oven safe dish; and cooked for about 15 minutes or until they were crunchy.

Perfecto!

I used a staple that I always have in my house, plus they weren’t deep-fried.  A double bonus.  I actually preferred these to store bought.

Here’s today’s meal plan…

Thursday (approx 1530 cal. and 65 grams of fat):

Breakfast:  2 eggs , tomato and spinach sandwich,  1 serv. fruit and c. milk

Snack: 1 serv. fruit

Lunch: Left over Greek Salad

Snack:  ½ c. yogurt and 1 serv. veggies, coffee w/Silk & Stevia

Dinner:  Tacos w/ 2 hard taco shells, ½ c. black beans, ½ avocado, 1 c. romaine, ¼ c. diced tomatoes, 2 tbsp. sour cream, and ¼ c. salsa.

Click here for this week’s full menu.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Innovative Taco Solutions

  1. MaryMoh says:

    Mmm….beautiful and delicious tacos. What a creative way to make tacos yourself! I have to try that. Thanks for sharing.

  2. What a great idea!! I’m going to have to try this next time we have tacos!

  3. Simply Life says:

    oh wow, I am drooling -can you ship those over here for dinnertime?! 🙂

  4. How creative! I seriously love avocado and black beans together. Might have to do that today!

  5. the taco idea sounds great! did you spray them with cooking oil or were they perfectly crispy on their own??

  6. The tacos were delicious. If I were going to do it again, I would use non-stick spray on the pan and fold the tortilla over the thicker handle of the pan.

    Sonia: They get crispy all by themselves. 🙂 At least the brand I use does. I use Don Padro.

  7. I am so glad you found my blog so I could find yours, it is great! What fantastic food and crystal clear pictures!

Comments are closed.