Meal planning doesn’t have to be Greek!

(Tonight’s dinner: Greek Salad including romaine, couscous, cucumber, tomatoes, red onions, feta and homemade hummus.  So filling I left 1/4 of it on my plate!)

Menu and meal planning is pretty much a Greek concept to me. Past attempts at a pre-planned daily menu have been made.  I’ve also collaborated dinner recipes for a week.  But these attempts are usually vexed by my tiny-waning attention span.  I usually start strong and don’t last long.  So why is this attempt any different?  For starters, I am not intirely convinced that it is different.  So far so good though.  And that’s what matters.  Baby steps people.  Ba-by steps.

My menu explained: As you look through my weekly meal plans, you should be aware of a few things…

1.)  “C.” stands for cup. Don’t ask why, but I feel as though adding the “up” is an entirely unnecessary step.

2.)  Milk.  I am very aware that many people won’t drink a plain glass of milk.  I happen to enjoy it and I think it is a very refreshing beverage.  If you are not a milk lover, you can subsitute it for 1 serving of cottage cheese, yogurt, cream cheese, regular cheese or the like.  Which leads me to…

3.)  …one of my goals, which is to include 3 servings of dairy every day.  Since I run, do yoga, strength train, etc., it is important for me to get the recomended dosage of dairy.  Plus I don’t want Osteoporosis by the time I’m 30.  Lactose intolerant?  There’s other options…but if you’re lactose intolerant, you know that.

4.) I enter in all of my food choices on SparkPeople.com‘s Nutrition Tracker.  This is how I come up with a daily calorie and fat intake.  It’s also how I know the recommended ratio of carbs to fat to protein.

05.)  For me to lose weight, I need to eat between 1200 and 1600 calories a day and burn at least 330 calories.  This was determined through SparkPeople. My menu will reflect this caloric need.  Curious about my progress?  Visit my SparkPage.

6.) Ambiguous fruit and veggies.  I am a firm believer in being frugal in the kitchen.  One way to be frugal is to buy produce on sale.  That’s why it’s not on my menu yet.

7.) I repeat things.  Again, I repeat, it’s about being frugal.  If I were to buy a big bag of spinach and only use it once, what happens?  I know! I know!  It goes bad.  This is not frugal.  So if you’re following along, bear with me.

8.) Organic, local and natural.  I attempt to purchase everything organic, local or all natural.  The bread listed on my menu is either homemade, or it has no high fructose and no preservatives.  The dairy I choose is also either organic or is from cows with no added growth hormones or antibiotics.

9.) Why post my weekly menu?  After being tired and frustrated one day I wished someone would plan my menu for me.  I decided that if I can plan my menus and share them, maybe one of my readers can benefit.  So if you’ve got a busy week and can’t stand the thought of planning your menu, that’s where I come in.  I really hope this turns out to be a ministry of sorts.  🙂

Here is today’s meal plan…

Wednesday (approx 1500 cal. and 50 grams of fat):

Breakfast:   1 serv. oatmeal with 1 oz nuts, ½ c. berries, ½ c. milk and coffee with Stevia and milk

Snack:  1 serv.  fruit

Lunch:  ½ c. yogurt, 1 serv. fruit and ½ c. granola

Snack:  ½ c. veggies, 1 oz. cheese, coffee w/Silk & Stevia

Dinner:  Greek Salad (1 c. cooked couscous, 2 tbsp. humus, 1 oz feta cheese, ½ c. cucumbers, ¼ c. tomatoes and 1 c. Romaine) and 1 c. milk

Click here for this week’s full meal plan.

I hope your day is filled with rainbows and sunshine!  (Only rain here, but I’m hoping for the sunshine)

-Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

‘Cause life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Meal planning doesn’t have to be Greek!

  1. Simply Life says:

    Yum! That greek salad looks delicious!

  2. Beautiful Greek salad! And I totally agree with you on the C = cup thing 🙂

  3. Wow, I wish I was that organized! Sounds like a good plan. My meals are a lot more thrown together…I guess you could say spontaneous hah.

  4. YUM- that salad looks fantastic! You’re right, it looks just like my Athena Wrap, but without the wrap.
    Love your blog!

  5. Your Greek salad looks GREAT! Your meal planning is very impressive!

  6. Katherine: What About Summer? says:

    Great example of how to plan ahead; I would really like to get control on my eating habits and tracking what I consume. When did you start doing this?

  7. Thanks all! It was a great combination of flavors. I enjoyed it a second time for lunch today.

    Katherine: I’ve made attempts in the past, but have never stuck to it. This is my 4th day of planning/sticking to it. I hope to post next week’s meal plan by tomorrow night. 🙂 It is a little work, but well worth it. I love not having to think about it in the morning or when I get home in the evening. It’s wonderful! Plus, I don’t have to track calories, because it’s done for me.

Comments are closed.