New Recipe: Spinach, Walnut and Pasta Salad

Today on my morning run to the State Capitol and back, my paths crossed with a man in a fedora hat and a trench coat.  He had a cigarette hanging out of one side of his mouth, and instead of carrying a briefcase, he carried a lunch pail.

He looked like a 1950s journalist — as if he walked off of the golden screen and found himself in present day America.  I was told I should have befriended him and asked him his name.  Well I upped my pace this morning so I was little sweaty and out of breath, I don’t think he would have appreciated the friendly conversation.  I don’t think my dog would have been happy about stopping to chat either.

Anyway the run got my metabolism going and my stomach grumbled all day long and I had that yucky light headed feeling.  I finally broke down and ate half of a granola bar, which was not on my meal plan.  I started feeling guilty, but…

I learned Rule # 1 of meal planning: Listen to your body.  When you’re so hungry your stomach is growling and you feel like you’re nearly ready to faint, I say it’s okay to have a healthful snack not on your menu.

For tonight’s dinner I re-created one of my recipes, which I featured on my original blog.

Spinach, Walnut and Pasta Salad

This is an easy recipe, but it’s all in the dressing baby!

Ingredients (For 1 Serving)

  • 1/2 c. Whole Wheat Rotini Pasta
  • 1 c. Baby Spinach
  • 1/2 oz Chopped Walnuts
  • 1 small garlic clove, minced
  • 1 oz. Feta Cheese
  • 1/4 c. Diced Tomatoes
  • 1/2 tbsp Olive Oil (Plus a little more for saute)
  • 1/2 tbsp Balsamic Vinegar
  • 1 tbsp Honey
  • Dash of salt

For the salad: Cook the pasta until al dente.  Saute’ the garlic and the nuts on medium-low heat in a small frying pan until you can start to smell the garlic and it turns opaque.  Be careful not to burn the walnuts.  Add the spinach to the garlic and walnuts and lightly saute’ the spinach until heated, but not smooshy.  Top the salad the pasta, feta and diced tomatoes.

For the Dressing: Wisk together olive oil, balsamic vinegar, honey and a dash of salt.

Thanks for visiting.  Tomorrow I get to have a Greek Salad.  I am super excited about that!

Tuesday (approx 1550 cal. and 53 grams of fat):

Breakfast: 2 pieces toast, w/ 1 tbsp PB & 1tbsp. natural jam, ½ c yogurt and 1 serv. fruit

Snack:   1 serv.  Fruit

Lunch:  1 c. left over stir fry veggies, ½ c. rice w/ ½ chicken breast

Snack:  ½ c. carrots, 1 oz. cheese, coffee w/Silk & Stevia

Dinner:  Spinach, Pasta and Walnut Salad, 1 c. milk

Click here to check out the rest of this week’s meals.

Thanks for visiting.  Tomorrow I get to have a Greek Salad!

–Shawnee, The Ex-Perfectionist

Because life isn’t perfect, but with a little planning and preparation, you can almost come close!

This entry was posted in Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to New Recipe: Spinach, Walnut and Pasta Salad

  1. The salad sounds great! I love spinach salad with a warm dressing so that the spinach gets a bit wilted… And the walnuts and the feta are such a nice touch!

  2. The salad looks good! Like Andrea said above me, spinach is so good a little wilted with warm dressing. And dieting and just life in general is all about listening to your body and following its cues.

  3. Simply Life says:

    oh my gosh, that looks DEEEELICIOUS!

  4. If you are that hungry you should soo not feel guilty about having a snack! I totally know how you feel but when I get that way then I’m like wait.. my body is yelling at me and I should probably listen to it! =P
    Your pasta dish looks beautiful- I love toasted walnuts!

  5. This looks delicious! I agree with you when you say that you need to listen to your body! Your body will let you know what it needs!

  6. Thanks all for commenting. It is important to listen to our bodies. I definitely don’t want to go into starvation mode. It messes with the metabolism! Trust me. Been there, done that. 😉

Comments are closed.